Skip to content

Otis College of Art and Design vs John Paul the Great Catholic University

Otis College of Art and Design is a private college in Los Angeles, CA. John Paul the Great Catholic University is a private university in Escondido, CA. John Paul the Great Catholic University admits about 80% of applicants and Otis College of Art and Design about 82%, making John Paul the Great Catholic University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $34,666 a year at John Paul the Great Catholic University after aid, and about $51,248 at Otis College of Art and Design. About 65% of students graduate at John Paul the Great Catholic University, compared with 64% at Otis College of Art and Design. Ten years after enrolling, Otis College of Art and Design alumni earn a median of about $58,152, against $56,930 for John Paul the Great Catholic University.

Otis College of Art and Design

Los Angeles, CA · Private

John Paul the Great Catholic University

Escondido, CA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Escondido, CA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,223
286
Acceptance rate
82%
80%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.48–3.98
3.39–3.89
SAT (middle 50%)
1265–1395
975–1270
ACT (middle 50%)
20–29
21–28
Test policy
Test blind
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$51,248
$34,666
Full cost / yr
$75,861
$52,367
In-state tuition
$56,488
$30,265
Out-of-state tuition
$56,488
$30,265
Application fee
$50
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$44,731
$27,029
$30k - $48k
$44,821
$35,037
$48k - $75k
$28,167
$31,236
$75k - $110k
$52,495
$32,194
Over $110k
$60,718
$38,282
Outcomes
Graduation rate
64%
65%
Freshman retention
74%
85%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,654
$34,360
Median earnings (10 yr)
$58,152
$56,930
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$26,968
Student body
Pell grant recipients
34%
33%
First-generation students
24%
Not reported
International students
19%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 5
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Otis College of Art and Design or John Paul the Great Catholic University harder to get into?
John Paul the Great Catholic University is harder to get into. It admits about 80% of applicants, compared with 82% at Otis College of Art and Design. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Otis College of Art and Design or John Paul the Great Catholic University?
John Paul the Great Catholic University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $34,666 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $51,248 at Otis College of Art and Design. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Otis College of Art and Design and John Paul the Great Catholic University?
Before aid, John Paul the Great Catholic University costs about $52,367 a year and Otis College of Art and Design about $75,861. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Otis College of Art and Design or John Paul the Great Catholic University?
John Paul the Great Catholic University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $27,029 there, against about $44,731 at Otis College of Art and Design. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Otis College of Art and Design or John Paul the Great Catholic University?
Otis College of Art and Design is the larger of the two, with about 1,223 undergraduates against 286 at John Paul the Great Catholic University.
Does Otis College of Art and Design or John Paul the Great Catholic University have a better graduation rate?
John Paul the Great Catholic University has the higher graduation rate, at about 65% against 64% at Otis College of Art and Design.
Do graduates of Otis College of Art and Design or John Paul the Great Catholic University earn more?
Otis College of Art and Design alumni earn more on average: a median of about $58,152 ten years after enrolling, against about $56,930 for John Paul the Great Catholic University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Otis College of Art and Design and John Paul the Great Catholic University require SAT or ACT scores?
Otis College of Art and Design is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. John Paul the Great Catholic University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Otis College of Art and Design and John Paul the Great Catholic University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1265–1395 at Otis College of Art and Design and 975–1270 at John Paul the Great Catholic University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school