Skip to content

Ottawa University-Ottawa vs Southwestern College

Ottawa University-Ottawa is a private university in Ottawa, KS. Southwestern College is a private college in Winfield, KS. Southwestern College admits about 76% of applicants and Ottawa University-Ottawa about 83%, making Southwestern College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $27,963 a year at Ottawa University-Ottawa after aid, and about $29,824 at Southwestern College. About 35% of students graduate at Southwestern College, compared with 28% at Ottawa University-Ottawa. Ten years after enrolling, Southwestern College alumni earn a median of about $55,646, against $55,552 for Ottawa University-Ottawa.

Ottawa University-Ottawa

Ottawa, KS · Private

Southwestern College

Winfield, KS · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Ottawa, KS
Winfield, KS
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
870
924
Acceptance rate
83%
76%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.22–3.72
3.35–3.85
SAT (middle 50%)
750–1000
900–1220
ACT (middle 50%)
16–22
17–22
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$27,963
$29,824
Full cost / yr
$51,856
$58,432
In-state tuition
$35,880
$39,822
Out-of-state tuition
$35,880
$39,822
Application fee
$25
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$22,449
$26,294
$30k - $48k
$22,912
$28,688
$48k - $75k
$25,525
$30,032
$75k - $110k
$30,199
$31,315
Over $110k
$30,771
$32,739
Outcomes
Graduation rate
28%
35%
Freshman retention
58%
56%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$49,139
$48,034
Median earnings (10 yr)
$55,552
$55,646
Median debt at graduation
$21,500
$25,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
37%
41%
First-generation students
40%
40%
International students
6%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Ottawa University-Ottawa or Southwestern College harder to get into?
Southwestern College is harder to get into. It admits about 76% of applicants, compared with 83% at Ottawa University-Ottawa. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Ottawa University-Ottawa or Southwestern College?
Ottawa University-Ottawa is cheaper on average. Students pay about $27,963 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $29,824 at Southwestern College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Ottawa University-Ottawa and Southwestern College?
Before aid, Ottawa University-Ottawa costs about $51,856 a year and Southwestern College about $58,432. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Ottawa University-Ottawa or Southwestern College?
Ottawa University-Ottawa. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $22,449 there, against about $26,294 at Southwestern College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Ottawa University-Ottawa or Southwestern College?
Southwestern College is the larger of the two, with about 924 undergraduates against 870 at Ottawa University-Ottawa.
Does Ottawa University-Ottawa or Southwestern College have a better graduation rate?
Southwestern College has the higher graduation rate, at about 35% against 28% at Ottawa University-Ottawa.
Do graduates of Ottawa University-Ottawa or Southwestern College earn more?
Southwestern College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,646 ten years after enrolling, against about $55,552 for Ottawa University-Ottawa. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Ottawa University-Ottawa and Southwestern College require SAT or ACT scores?
Ottawa University-Ottawa considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Southwestern College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Ottawa University-Ottawa and Southwestern College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 750–1000 at Ottawa University-Ottawa and 900–1220 at Southwestern College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school