Skip to content

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington vs Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington is a public university in New Kensington, PA, and Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly is a public university in Lemont Furnace, PA. Both admit about 95% of applicants. Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,596 a year against $18,305 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington. About 36% of students graduate at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly, compared with 26% at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington. Alumni of both earn a median of about $63,435 ten years after enrolling.

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington

New Kensington, PA · Public

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly

Lemont Furnace, PA · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
New Kensington, PA
Lemont Furnace, PA
Setting
Rural
Rural
Undergraduates
416
402
Acceptance rate
95%
95%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.19–3.69
3.19–3.69
SAT (middle 50%)
1110–1265
1120–1250
ACT (middle 50%)
25–27
18–25
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,305
$14,596
Full cost / yr
$26,863
$25,154
In-state tuition
$14,408
$14,408
Out-of-state tuition
$24,134
$24,134
Application fee
$65
$65
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$11,541
$9,445
$30k - $48k
$13,323
$8,574
$48k - $75k
$17,589
$11,644
$75k - $110k
$21,666
$13,165
Over $110k
$23,654
$22,545
Outcomes
Graduation rate
26%
36%
Freshman retention
85%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$55,620
$55,620
Median earnings (10 yr)
$63,435
$63,435
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$25,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
32%
39%
First-generation students
29%
29%
International students
1%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 95% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,596 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,305 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington and Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly?
Before aid, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly costs about $25,154 a year and Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington about $26,863. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,445 there, against about $11,541 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington is the larger of the two, with about 416 undergraduates against 402 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly.
Does Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly have a better graduation rate?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly has the higher graduation rate, at about 36% against 26% at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington.
Do graduates of Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly earn more?
Earnings are similar. Alumni of both earn a median of about $63,435 ten years after enrolling. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington and Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly require SAT or ACT scores?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington and Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1110–1265 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington and 1120–1250 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school