Skip to content

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango vs Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango is a public university in Sharon, PA, and Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania is a public university in Bloomsburg, PA. Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango is the more selective of the two, admitting about 92% of applicants against 93% at Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania. Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $15,699 a year against $18,095 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango. About 54% of students graduate at Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania, compared with 33% at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango. Ten years after enrolling, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango alumni earn a median of about $63,435, against $52,416 for Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania.

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango

Sharon, PA · Public

Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania

Bloomsburg, PA · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Sharon, PA
Bloomsburg, PA
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
256
9,210
Acceptance rate
92%
93%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.24–3.74
3.16–3.66
SAT (middle 50%)
1040–1230
990–1190
ACT (middle 50%)
18–21
18–25
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,095
$15,699
Full cost / yr
$26,821
$25,161
In-state tuition
$14,024
$11,046
Out-of-state tuition
$23,560
$22,870
Application fee
$65
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$14,946
$11,374
$30k - $48k
$15,847
$11,370
$48k - $75k
$14,896
$13,877
$75k - $110k
$17,600
$17,989
Over $110k
$22,729
$20,099
Outcomes
Graduation rate
33%
54%
Freshman retention
66%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$55,620
$44,053
Median earnings (10 yr)
$63,435
$52,416
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$26,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
39%
32%
First-generation students
29%
34%
International students
0%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango or Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania harder to get into?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango is harder to get into. It admits about 92% of applicants, compared with 93% at Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango or Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania?
Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,699 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,095 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango and Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania?
Before aid, Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania costs about $25,161 a year and Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango about $26,821. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango or Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania?
Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,374 there, against about $14,946 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango or Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania?
Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania is the larger of the two, with about 9,210 undergraduates against 256 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango.
Does Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango or Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania have a better graduation rate?
Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania has the higher graduation rate, at about 54% against 33% at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango.
Do graduates of Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango or Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania earn more?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango alumni earn more on average: a median of about $63,435 ten years after enrolling, against about $52,416 for Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango and Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania require SAT or ACT scores?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango and Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1040–1230 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Shenango and 990–1190 at Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school