Skip to content

Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce vs Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico

Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce is a private university in Ponce, PR. Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico is a private university in Hato Rey, PR. Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico admits about 89% of applicants and Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce about 98%, making Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $13,192 a year at Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce after aid, and about $17,540 at Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico. About 48% of students graduate at Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce, compared with 26% at Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico. Ten years after enrolling, Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico alumni earn a median of about $47,540, against $24,908 for Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce.

Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce

Ponce, PR · Private

Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico

Hato Rey, PR · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Ponce, PR
Hato Rey, PR
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
3,874
3,594
Acceptance rate
98%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.23–3.73
3.23–3.73
SAT (middle 50%)
1195–1360
920–1190
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
17–24
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,192
$17,540
Full cost / yr
$20,508
$23,368
In-state tuition
$6,650
$9,870
Out-of-state tuition
$6,650
$9,870
Application fee
Not reported
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,384
$16,406
$30k - $48k
$13,341
$17,013
$48k - $75k
$15,812
$19,884
$75k - $110k
$18,329
$21,687
Over $110k
$20,122
$22,588
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
26%
Freshman retention
83%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$20,637
$37,753
Median earnings (10 yr)
$24,908
$47,540
Median debt at graduation
$15,500
$22,564
Student body
Pell grant recipients
81%
62%
First-generation students
31%
22%
International students
0%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce or Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico harder to get into?
Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico is harder to get into. It admits about 89% of applicants, compared with 98% at Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce or Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico?
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,192 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,540 at Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce and Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico?
Before aid, Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce costs about $20,508 a year and Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico about $23,368. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce or Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico?
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,384 there, against about $16,406 at Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce or Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico?
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce is the larger of the two, with about 3,874 undergraduates against 3,594 at Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico.
Does Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce or Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico have a better graduation rate?
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce has the higher graduation rate, at about 48% against 26% at Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico.
Do graduates of Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce or Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico earn more?
Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico alumni earn more on average: a median of about $47,540 ten years after enrolling, against about $24,908 for Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce and Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico require SAT or ACT scores?
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce and Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1195–1360 at Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce and 920–1190 at Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school