Skip to content

Prairie View A & M University vs Southwestern Adventist University

Prairie View A & M University is a public university in Prairie View, TX, and Southwestern Adventist University is a private university in Keene, TX. Southwestern Adventist University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 78% of applicants against 79% at Prairie View A & M University. Prairie View A & M University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $13,570 a year against $22,778 at Southwestern Adventist University. About 47% of students graduate at Southwestern Adventist University, compared with 43% at Prairie View A & M University. Ten years after enrolling, Southwestern Adventist University alumni earn a median of about $52,946, against $45,411 for Prairie View A & M University.

Prairie View A & M University

Prairie View, TX · Public

Southwestern Adventist University

Keene, TX · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Prairie View, TX
Keene, TX
Setting
Rural
Suburban
Undergraduates
8,877
570
Acceptance rate
79%
78%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.27–3.77
3.34–3.84
SAT (middle 50%)
860–1080
910–1200
ACT (middle 50%)
16–21
17–25
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,570
$22,778
Full cost / yr
$26,362
$35,592
In-state tuition
$11,299
$25,380
Out-of-state tuition
$26,874
$25,380
Application fee
$40
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,120
$16,725
$30k - $48k
$13,465
$21,462
$48k - $75k
$16,024
$15,441
$75k - $110k
$17,753
$27,439
Over $110k
$16,376
$31,475
Outcomes
Graduation rate
43%
47%
Freshman retention
76%
73%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$36,350
$43,643
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,411
$52,946
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$26,998
Student body
Pell grant recipients
66%
42%
First-generation students
33%
34%
International students
2%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Dec 1
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Prairie View A & M University or Southwestern Adventist University harder to get into?
Southwestern Adventist University is harder to get into. It admits about 78% of applicants, compared with 79% at Prairie View A & M University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Prairie View A & M University or Southwestern Adventist University?
Prairie View A & M University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,570 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,778 at Southwestern Adventist University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Prairie View A & M University and Southwestern Adventist University?
Before aid, Prairie View A & M University costs about $26,362 a year and Southwestern Adventist University about $35,592. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Prairie View A & M University or Southwestern Adventist University?
Prairie View A & M University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,120 there, against about $16,725 at Southwestern Adventist University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Prairie View A & M University or Southwestern Adventist University?
Prairie View A & M University is the larger of the two, with about 8,877 undergraduates against 570 at Southwestern Adventist University.
Does Prairie View A & M University or Southwestern Adventist University have a better graduation rate?
Southwestern Adventist University has the higher graduation rate, at about 47% against 43% at Prairie View A & M University.
Do graduates of Prairie View A & M University or Southwestern Adventist University earn more?
Southwestern Adventist University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,946 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,411 for Prairie View A & M University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Prairie View A & M University and Southwestern Adventist University require SAT or ACT scores?
Prairie View A & M University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Southwestern Adventist University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Prairie View A & M University and Southwestern Adventist University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 860–1080 at Prairie View A & M University and 910–1200 at Southwestern Adventist University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school