Skip to content

Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music vs Dewey University-Hato Rey

Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music is a public university in San Juan, PR, and Dewey University-Hato Rey is a private university in Hato Rey, PR. Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music is the more selective of the two, admitting about 78% of applicants against 100% at Dewey University-Hato Rey. Dewey University-Hato Rey is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $3,577 a year against $7,260 at Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music. About 62% of students graduate at Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music, compared with 53% at Dewey University-Hato Rey. Ten years after enrolling, Dewey University-Hato Rey alumni earn a median of about $19,761, against $19,474 for Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music.

Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music

San Juan, PR · Public

Dewey University-Hato Rey

Hato Rey, PR · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
San Juan, PR
Hato Rey, PR
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
307
244
Acceptance rate
78%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.5–4
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
Not reported
Test policy
Required
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$7,260
$3,577
Full cost / yr
$12,920
$11,993
In-state tuition
$3,370
$8,180
Out-of-state tuition
$3,850
$8,180
Application fee
$75
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$7,144
$3,192
$30k - $48k
$5,875
$3,600
$48k - $75k
$8,875
$5,035
$75k - $110k
Not reported
Not reported
Over $110k
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
62%
53%
Freshman retention
88%
57%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$9,910
$17,132
Median earnings (10 yr)
$19,474
$19,761
Median debt at graduation
$8,875
$5,185
Student body
Pell grant recipients
62%
94%
First-generation students
10%
48%
International students
1%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Dec 5
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music or Dewey University-Hato Rey harder to get into?
Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music is harder to get into. It admits about 78% of applicants, compared with 100% at Dewey University-Hato Rey. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music or Dewey University-Hato Rey?
Dewey University-Hato Rey is cheaper on average. Students pay about $3,577 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $7,260 at Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music and Dewey University-Hato Rey?
Before aid, Dewey University-Hato Rey costs about $11,993 a year and Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music about $12,920. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music or Dewey University-Hato Rey?
Dewey University-Hato Rey. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $3,192 there, against about $7,144 at Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music or Dewey University-Hato Rey?
Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music is the larger of the two, with about 307 undergraduates against 244 at Dewey University-Hato Rey.
Does Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music or Dewey University-Hato Rey have a better graduation rate?
Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music has the higher graduation rate, at about 62% against 53% at Dewey University-Hato Rey.
Do graduates of Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music or Dewey University-Hato Rey earn more?
Dewey University-Hato Rey alumni earn more on average: a median of about $19,761 ten years after enrolling, against about $19,474 for Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school