Skip to content

Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music vs Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music is a public university in San Juan, PR. Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico is a private university in Hato Rey, PR. Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music admits about 78% of applicants and Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico about 89%, making Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $7,260 a year at Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music after aid, and about $17,540 at Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico. About 62% of students graduate at Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music, compared with 26% at Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico. Ten years after enrolling, Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico alumni earn a median of about $47,540, against $19,474 for Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music.

Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music

San Juan, PR · Public

Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico

Hato Rey, PR · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
San Juan, PR
Hato Rey, PR
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
307
3,594
Acceptance rate
78%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.5–4
3.23–3.73
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
920–1190
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
17–24
Test policy
Required
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$7,260
$17,540
Full cost / yr
$12,920
$23,368
In-state tuition
$3,370
$9,870
Out-of-state tuition
$3,850
$9,870
Application fee
$75
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$7,144
$16,406
$30k - $48k
$5,875
$17,013
$48k - $75k
$8,875
$19,884
$75k - $110k
Not reported
$21,687
Over $110k
Not reported
$22,588
Outcomes
Graduation rate
62%
26%
Freshman retention
88%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$9,910
$37,753
Median earnings (10 yr)
$19,474
$47,540
Median debt at graduation
$8,875
$22,564
Student body
Pell grant recipients
62%
62%
First-generation students
10%
22%
International students
1%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Dec 5
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music or Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico harder to get into?
Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music is harder to get into. It admits about 78% of applicants, compared with 89% at Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music or Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico?
Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music is cheaper on average. Students pay about $7,260 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,540 at Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music and Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico?
Before aid, Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music costs about $12,920 a year and Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico about $23,368. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music or Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico?
Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,144 there, against about $16,406 at Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music or Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico?
Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico is the larger of the two, with about 3,594 undergraduates against 307 at Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music.
Does Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music or Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico have a better graduation rate?
Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music has the higher graduation rate, at about 62% against 26% at Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico.
Do graduates of Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music or Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico earn more?
Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico alumni earn more on average: a median of about $47,540 ten years after enrolling, against about $19,474 for Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school