Skip to content

Purdue University Fort Wayne vs Oakland City University

Purdue University Fort Wayne is a public university in Fort Wayne, IN. Oakland City University is a private university in Oakland City, IN. Oakland City University admits about 83% of applicants and Purdue University Fort Wayne about 84%, making Oakland City University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $13,171 a year at Purdue University Fort Wayne after aid, and about $15,210 at Oakland City University. About 68% of students graduate at Oakland City University, compared with 34% at Purdue University Fort Wayne. Ten years after enrolling, Purdue University Fort Wayne alumni earn a median of about $45,872, against $43,283 for Oakland City University.

Purdue University Fort Wayne

Fort Wayne, IN · Public

Oakland City University

Oakland City, IN · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Fort Wayne, IN
Oakland City, IN
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
5,484
499
Acceptance rate
84%
83%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.32–3.82
3.32–3.82
SAT (middle 50%)
970–1220
850–1150
ACT (middle 50%)
22–29
17–23
Test policy
Test optional
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,171
$15,210
Full cost / yr
$22,183
$42,441
In-state tuition
$9,532
$27,900
Out-of-state tuition
$22,887
$27,900
Application fee
$30
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$8,306
$13,980
$30k - $48k
$8,703
$15,781
$48k - $75k
$12,444
$13,637
$75k - $110k
$18,430
$16,005
Over $110k
$20,224
$18,550
Outcomes
Graduation rate
34%
68%
Freshman retention
67%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$42,873
$43,190
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,872
$43,283
Median debt at graduation
$21,500
$16,758
Student body
Pell grant recipients
25%
41%
First-generation students
35%
44%
International students
3%
18%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Purdue University Fort Wayne or Oakland City University harder to get into?
Oakland City University is harder to get into. It admits about 83% of applicants, compared with 84% at Purdue University Fort Wayne. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Purdue University Fort Wayne or Oakland City University?
Purdue University Fort Wayne is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,171 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $15,210 at Oakland City University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Purdue University Fort Wayne and Oakland City University?
Before aid, Purdue University Fort Wayne costs about $22,183 a year and Oakland City University about $42,441. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Purdue University Fort Wayne or Oakland City University?
Purdue University Fort Wayne. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,306 there, against about $13,980 at Oakland City University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Purdue University Fort Wayne or Oakland City University?
Purdue University Fort Wayne is the larger of the two, with about 5,484 undergraduates against 499 at Oakland City University.
Does Purdue University Fort Wayne or Oakland City University have a better graduation rate?
Oakland City University has the higher graduation rate, at about 68% against 34% at Purdue University Fort Wayne.
Do graduates of Purdue University Fort Wayne or Oakland City University earn more?
Purdue University Fort Wayne alumni earn more on average: a median of about $45,872 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,283 for Oakland City University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Purdue University Fort Wayne and Oakland City University require SAT or ACT scores?
Purdue University Fort Wayne is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Oakland City University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do Purdue University Fort Wayne and Oakland City University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 970–1220 at Purdue University Fort Wayne and 850–1150 at Oakland City University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school