Skip to content

Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design vs Western Colorado University

Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design is a private for-profit college in Lakewood, CO, and Western Colorado University is a public university in Gunnison, CO. Both admit about 100% of applicants. Western Colorado University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $16,425 a year against $32,363 at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design. About 51% of students graduate at Western Colorado University, compared with 34% at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design. Ten years after enrolling, Western Colorado University alumni earn a median of about $46,833, against $42,958 for Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design.

Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design

Lakewood, CO · Private (for-profit)

Western Colorado University

Gunnison, CO · Public
At a glance
Type
Private (for-profit)
Public
Location
Lakewood, CO
Gunnison, CO
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
2,050
1,586
Acceptance rate
100%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.23–3.73
SAT (middle 50%)
910–1150
1163–1353
ACT (middle 50%)
19–23
22–26
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$32,363
$16,425
Full cost / yr
$37,505
$25,736
In-state tuition
$20,190
$11,318
Out-of-state tuition
$20,190
$24,434
Application fee
$50
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$29,847
$11,490
$30k - $48k
$29,351
$10,868
$48k - $75k
$32,387
$13,908
$75k - $110k
$36,040
$16,928
Over $110k
$36,201
$21,396
Outcomes
Graduation rate
34%
51%
Freshman retention
54%
72%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$30,280
$40,037
Median earnings (10 yr)
$42,958
$46,833
Median debt at graduation
$31,000
$20,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
48%
12%
First-generation students
33%
25%
International students
0%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design or Western Colorado University harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 100% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design or Western Colorado University?
Western Colorado University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $16,425 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $32,363 at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design and Western Colorado University?
Before aid, Western Colorado University costs about $25,736 a year and Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design about $37,505. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design or Western Colorado University?
Western Colorado University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,490 there, against about $29,847 at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design or Western Colorado University?
Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design is the larger of the two, with about 2,050 undergraduates against 1,586 at Western Colorado University.
Does Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design or Western Colorado University have a better graduation rate?
Western Colorado University has the higher graduation rate, at about 51% against 34% at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design.
Do graduates of Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design or Western Colorado University earn more?
Western Colorado University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $46,833 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,958 for Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design and Western Colorado University require SAT or ACT scores?
Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Western Colorado University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design and Western Colorado University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 910–1150 at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design and 1163–1353 at Western Colorado University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school