Skip to content

Saint Cloud State University vs St Catherine University

Saint Cloud State University is a public university in Saint Cloud, MN, and St Catherine University is a private university in Saint Paul, MN. St Catherine University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 92% of applicants against 95% at Saint Cloud State University. Saint Cloud State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $13,529 a year against $19,764 at St Catherine University. About 63% of students graduate at St Catherine University, compared with 44% at Saint Cloud State University. Ten years after enrolling, St Catherine University alumni earn a median of about $59,282, against $55,813 for Saint Cloud State University.

Saint Cloud State University

Saint Cloud, MN · Public

St Catherine University

Saint Paul, MN · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Saint Cloud, MN
Saint Paul, MN
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
5,088
2,473
Acceptance rate
95%
92%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.19–3.69
3.12–3.62
SAT (middle 50%)
1025–1260
850–1140
ACT (middle 50%)
17–25
20–26
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,529
$19,764
Full cost / yr
$21,116
$60,476
In-state tuition
$10,245
$51,454
Out-of-state tuition
$10,245
$51,454
Application fee
Not reported
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$8,909
$17,890
$30k - $48k
$9,871
$15,190
$48k - $75k
$12,034
$15,451
$75k - $110k
$14,781
$19,376
Over $110k
$18,989
$27,021
Outcomes
Graduation rate
44%
63%
Freshman retention
71%
80%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$47,215
$52,795
Median earnings (10 yr)
$55,813
$59,282
Median debt at graduation
$21,058
$24,181
Student body
Pell grant recipients
22%
40%
First-generation students
27%
29%
International students
14%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jun 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Saint Cloud State University or St Catherine University harder to get into?
St Catherine University is harder to get into. It admits about 92% of applicants, compared with 95% at Saint Cloud State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Saint Cloud State University or St Catherine University?
Saint Cloud State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,529 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $19,764 at St Catherine University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Saint Cloud State University and St Catherine University?
Before aid, Saint Cloud State University costs about $21,116 a year and St Catherine University about $60,476. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Saint Cloud State University or St Catherine University?
Saint Cloud State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,909 there, against about $17,890 at St Catherine University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Saint Cloud State University or St Catherine University?
Saint Cloud State University is the larger of the two, with about 5,088 undergraduates against 2,473 at St Catherine University.
Does Saint Cloud State University or St Catherine University have a better graduation rate?
St Catherine University has the higher graduation rate, at about 63% against 44% at Saint Cloud State University.
Do graduates of Saint Cloud State University or St Catherine University earn more?
St Catherine University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $59,282 ten years after enrolling, against about $55,813 for Saint Cloud State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Saint Cloud State University and St Catherine University require SAT or ACT scores?
Saint Cloud State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. St Catherine University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Saint Cloud State University and St Catherine University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1025–1260 at Saint Cloud State University and 850–1140 at St Catherine University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school