Skip to content

Saint Mary's University of Minnesota vs St Catherine University

Saint Mary's University of Minnesota is a private university in Winona, MN, and St Catherine University is a private university in Saint Paul, MN. St Catherine University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 92% of applicants against 93% at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota. Saint Mary's University of Minnesota is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $11,704 a year against $19,764 at St Catherine University. About 67% of students graduate at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota, compared with 63% at St Catherine University. Ten years after enrolling, St Catherine University alumni earn a median of about $59,282, against $58,170 for Saint Mary's University of Minnesota.

Saint Mary's University of Minnesota

Winona, MN · Private

St Catherine University

Saint Paul, MN · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Winona, MN
Saint Paul, MN
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,073
2,473
Acceptance rate
93%
92%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.23–3.73
3.12–3.62
SAT (middle 50%)
1030–1196
850–1140
ACT (middle 50%)
21–28
20–26
Test policy
Test blind
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$11,704
$19,764
Full cost / yr
$57,380
$60,476
In-state tuition
$45,080
$51,454
Out-of-state tuition
$45,080
$51,454
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,182
$17,890
$30k - $48k
$15,175
$15,190
$48k - $75k
$15,030
$15,451
$75k - $110k
$14,771
$19,376
Over $110k
$6,135
$27,021
Outcomes
Graduation rate
67%
63%
Freshman retention
75%
80%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$54,549
$52,795
Median earnings (10 yr)
$58,170
$59,282
Median debt at graduation
$21,500
$24,181
Student body
Pell grant recipients
25%
40%
First-generation students
26%
29%
International students
2%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jun 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Saint Mary's University of Minnesota or St Catherine University harder to get into?
St Catherine University is harder to get into. It admits about 92% of applicants, compared with 93% at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota or St Catherine University?
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota is cheaper on average. Students pay about $11,704 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $19,764 at St Catherine University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota and St Catherine University?
Before aid, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota costs about $57,380 a year and St Catherine University about $60,476. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota or St Catherine University?
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,182 there, against about $17,890 at St Catherine University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota or St Catherine University?
St Catherine University is the larger of the two, with about 2,473 undergraduates against 1,073 at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota.
Does Saint Mary's University of Minnesota or St Catherine University have a better graduation rate?
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota has the higher graduation rate, at about 67% against 63% at St Catherine University.
Do graduates of Saint Mary's University of Minnesota or St Catherine University earn more?
St Catherine University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $59,282 ten years after enrolling, against about $58,170 for Saint Mary's University of Minnesota. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Saint Mary's University of Minnesota and St Catherine University require SAT or ACT scores?
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. St Catherine University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Saint Mary's University of Minnesota and St Catherine University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1030–1196 at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota and 850–1140 at St Catherine University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school