Skip to content

South University-Savannah vs Thomas University

South University-Savannah is a private for-profit university in Savannah, GA, and Thomas University is a private university in Thomasville, GA. Thomas University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 38% of applicants against 100% at South University-Savannah. Thomas University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $18,499 a year against $28,743 at South University-Savannah. About 28% of students graduate at Thomas University, compared with 16% at South University-Savannah. Ten years after enrolling, Thomas University alumni earn a median of about $49,716, against $34,421 for South University-Savannah.

South University-Savannah

Savannah, GA · Private (for-profit)

Thomas University

Thomasville, GA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private (for-profit)
Private
Location
Savannah, GA
Thomasville, GA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
270
998
Acceptance rate
100%
38%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.2–3.7
3.36–4
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
990–1220
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
20–24
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$28,743
$18,499
Full cost / yr
$36,577
$23,079
In-state tuition
$18,145
$11,640
Out-of-state tuition
$18,145
$11,640
Application fee
$75
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$27,713
$15,640
$30k - $48k
$30,147
$19,546
$48k - $75k
Not reported
$19,923
$75k - $110k
$31,954
$19,934
Over $110k
$33,277
$20,059
Outcomes
Graduation rate
16%
28%
Freshman retention
22%
49%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$34,115
$45,305
Median earnings (10 yr)
$34,421
$49,716
Median debt at graduation
$26,123
$21,198
Student body
Pell grant recipients
62%
55%
First-generation students
47%
46%
International students
0%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is South University-Savannah or Thomas University harder to get into?
Thomas University is harder to get into. It admits about 38% of applicants, compared with 100% at South University-Savannah. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, South University-Savannah or Thomas University?
Thomas University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,499 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $28,743 at South University-Savannah. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at South University-Savannah and Thomas University?
Before aid, Thomas University costs about $23,079 a year and South University-Savannah about $36,577. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, South University-Savannah or Thomas University?
Thomas University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $15,640 there, against about $27,713 at South University-Savannah. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, South University-Savannah or Thomas University?
Thomas University is the larger of the two, with about 998 undergraduates against 270 at South University-Savannah.
Does South University-Savannah or Thomas University have a better graduation rate?
Thomas University has the higher graduation rate, at about 28% against 16% at South University-Savannah.
Do graduates of South University-Savannah or Thomas University earn more?
Thomas University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $49,716 ten years after enrolling, against about $34,421 for South University-Savannah. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do South University-Savannah and Thomas University require SAT or ACT scores?
South University-Savannah is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Thomas University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school