South University-Tampa vs Florida Institute of Technology-Online
South University-Tampa is a private for-profit university in Tampa, FL. Florida Institute of Technology-Online is a private institute in Melbourne, FL. Students pay an average of about $18,405 a year at Florida Institute of Technology-Online after aid, and about $20,434 at South University-Tampa. Ten years after enrolling, Florida Institute of Technology-Online alumni earn a median of about $43,137, against $34,421 for South University-Tampa.
At a glance
Type
Private (for-profit)
Private
Location
Tampa, FL
Melbourne, FL
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
388
475
Acceptance rate
Not reported
40%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
Not reported
3.3–4
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
955–1140
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
Not reported
Test policy
Not reported
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,434
$18,405
Full cost / yr
$30,414
$24,762
In-state tuition
$18,145
$12,780
Out-of-state tuition
$18,145
$12,780
Application fee
$75
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$20,347
$17,230
$30k - $48k
$19,364
Not reported
$48k - $75k
$20,759
Not reported
$75k - $110k
$22,442
$20,945
Over $110k
Not reported
$23,012
Outcomes
Graduation rate
15%
Not reported
Freshman retention
50%
64%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$34,115
$41,941
Median earnings (10 yr)
$34,421
$43,137
Median debt at graduation
$26,123
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
49%
49%
First-generation students
47%
40%
International students
1%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling
Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.
- Which is cheaper, South University-Tampa or Florida Institute of Technology-Online?
- Florida Institute of Technology-Online is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,405 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,434 at South University-Tampa. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
- What is the full cost of attendance at South University-Tampa and Florida Institute of Technology-Online?
- Before aid, Florida Institute of Technology-Online costs about $24,762 a year and South University-Tampa about $30,414. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
- Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, South University-Tampa or Florida Institute of Technology-Online?
- Florida Institute of Technology-Online. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $17,230 there, against about $20,347 at South University-Tampa. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
- Which is bigger, South University-Tampa or Florida Institute of Technology-Online?
- Florida Institute of Technology-Online is the larger of the two, with about 475 undergraduates against 388 at South University-Tampa.
- Do graduates of South University-Tampa or Florida Institute of Technology-Online earn more?
- Florida Institute of Technology-Online alumni earn more on average: a median of about $43,137 ten years after enrolling, against about $34,421 for South University-Tampa. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Related comparisons
South University-Tampa vs Baptist University of FloridaSouth University-Tampa vs Warner UniversitySouth University-Tampa vs Beacon CollegeFlorida Institute of Technology-Online vs Baptist University of FloridaFlorida Institute of Technology-Online vs Warner UniversityFlorida Institute of Technology-Online vs Beacon College
Which of these is the better fit for you?
These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.
1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school