Skip to content

Southeast Missouri State University vs Westminster College

Southeast Missouri State University is a public university in Cape Girardeau, MO. Westminster College is a private college in Fulton, MO. Southeast Missouri State University admits about 74% of applicants and Westminster College about 79%, making Southeast Missouri State University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $15,882 a year at Southeast Missouri State University after aid, and about $24,314 at Westminster College. About 57% of students graduate at Southeast Missouri State University, compared with 56% at Westminster College. Ten years after enrolling, Westminster College alumni earn a median of about $52,199, against $44,030 for Southeast Missouri State University.

Southeast Missouri State University

Cape Girardeau, MO · Public

Westminster College

Fulton, MO · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Cape Girardeau, MO
Fulton, MO
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
6,373
638
Acceptance rate
74%
79%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.3–3.8
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
850–1030
990–1250
ACT (middle 50%)
15–20
19–24
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$15,882
$24,314
Full cost / yr
$25,177
$51,532
In-state tuition
$9,903
$35,214
Out-of-state tuition
$9,903
$35,214
Application fee
Not reported
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,704
$24,543
$30k - $48k
$13,342
$17,050
$48k - $75k
$15,338
$22,123
$75k - $110k
$17,395
$24,957
Over $110k
$21,267
$26,066
Outcomes
Graduation rate
57%
56%
Freshman retention
76%
71%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,150
$40,992
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,030
$52,199
Median debt at graduation
$21,500
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
30%
38%
First-generation students
37%
27%
International students
8%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Southeast Missouri State University or Westminster College harder to get into?
Southeast Missouri State University is harder to get into. It admits about 74% of applicants, compared with 79% at Westminster College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Southeast Missouri State University or Westminster College?
Southeast Missouri State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,882 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,314 at Westminster College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Southeast Missouri State University and Westminster College?
Before aid, Southeast Missouri State University costs about $25,177 a year and Westminster College about $51,532. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Southeast Missouri State University or Westminster College?
Southeast Missouri State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,704 there, against about $24,543 at Westminster College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Southeast Missouri State University or Westminster College?
Southeast Missouri State University is the larger of the two, with about 6,373 undergraduates against 638 at Westminster College.
Does Southeast Missouri State University or Westminster College have a better graduation rate?
Southeast Missouri State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 57% against 56% at Westminster College.
Do graduates of Southeast Missouri State University or Westminster College earn more?
Westminster College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,199 ten years after enrolling, against about $44,030 for Southeast Missouri State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Southeast Missouri State University and Westminster College require SAT or ACT scores?
Southeast Missouri State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Westminster College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Southeast Missouri State University and Westminster College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 850–1030 at Southeast Missouri State University and 990–1250 at Westminster College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school