Skip to content

Southeast Missouri State University vs William Woods University

Southeast Missouri State University is a public university in Cape Girardeau, MO. William Woods University is a private university in Fulton, MO. William Woods University admits about 71% of applicants and Southeast Missouri State University about 74%, making William Woods University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $15,882 a year at Southeast Missouri State University after aid, and about $26,569 at William Woods University. About 57% of students graduate at Southeast Missouri State University, compared with 52% at William Woods University. Ten years after enrolling, Southeast Missouri State University alumni earn a median of about $44,030, against $42,401 for William Woods University.

Southeast Missouri State University

Cape Girardeau, MO · Public

William Woods University

Fulton, MO · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Cape Girardeau, MO
Fulton, MO
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
6,373
1,300
Acceptance rate
74%
71%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.3–3.8
3.43–3.93
SAT (middle 50%)
850–1030
996–1225
ACT (middle 50%)
15–20
20–26
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$15,882
$26,569
Full cost / yr
$25,177
$49,094
In-state tuition
$9,903
$30,340
Out-of-state tuition
$9,903
$30,340
Application fee
Not reported
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,704
$24,014
$30k - $48k
$13,342
$22,967
$48k - $75k
$15,338
$24,218
$75k - $110k
$17,395
$29,491
Over $110k
$21,267
$29,428
Outcomes
Graduation rate
57%
52%
Freshman retention
76%
58%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,150
$39,265
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,030
$42,401
Median debt at graduation
$21,500
$21,983
Student body
Pell grant recipients
30%
35%
First-generation students
37%
30%
International students
8%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Southeast Missouri State University or William Woods University harder to get into?
William Woods University is harder to get into. It admits about 71% of applicants, compared with 74% at Southeast Missouri State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Southeast Missouri State University or William Woods University?
Southeast Missouri State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,882 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $26,569 at William Woods University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Southeast Missouri State University and William Woods University?
Before aid, Southeast Missouri State University costs about $25,177 a year and William Woods University about $49,094. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Southeast Missouri State University or William Woods University?
Southeast Missouri State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,704 there, against about $24,014 at William Woods University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Southeast Missouri State University or William Woods University?
Southeast Missouri State University is the larger of the two, with about 6,373 undergraduates against 1,300 at William Woods University.
Does Southeast Missouri State University or William Woods University have a better graduation rate?
Southeast Missouri State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 57% against 52% at William Woods University.
Do graduates of Southeast Missouri State University or William Woods University earn more?
Southeast Missouri State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $44,030 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,401 for William Woods University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Southeast Missouri State University and William Woods University require SAT or ACT scores?
Southeast Missouri State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. William Woods University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Southeast Missouri State University and William Woods University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 850–1030 at Southeast Missouri State University and 996–1225 at William Woods University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school