Skip to content

Southern Nazarene University vs Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Southern Nazarene University is a private university in Bethany, OK. Southwestern Oklahoma State University is a public university in Weatherford, OK. Both admit about 100% of applicants. Students pay an average of about $14,459 a year at Southwestern Oklahoma State University after aid, and about $22,084 at Southern Nazarene University. About 50% of students graduate at Southern Nazarene University, compared with 37% at Southwestern Oklahoma State University. Ten years after enrolling, Southern Nazarene University alumni earn a median of about $54,951, against $45,744 for Southwestern Oklahoma State University.

Southern Nazarene University

Bethany, OK · Private

Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Weatherford, OK · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Bethany, OK
Weatherford, OK
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,455
3,514
Acceptance rate
100%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.13–3.63
SAT (middle 50%)
930–1180
970–1180
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
17–23
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,084
$14,459
Full cost / yr
$46,465
$23,334
In-state tuition
$31,190
$8,469
Out-of-state tuition
$31,190
$8,499
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$18,931
$10,987
$30k - $48k
$18,323
$10,094
$48k - $75k
$22,590
$12,069
$75k - $110k
$27,082
$17,500
Over $110k
$27,434
$19,595
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
37%
Freshman retention
73%
68%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$48,255
$42,896
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,951
$45,744
Median debt at graduation
$21,900
$15,954
Student body
Pell grant recipients
47%
39%
First-generation students
38%
41%
International students
3%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Southern Nazarene University or Southwestern Oklahoma State University harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 100% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Southern Nazarene University or Southwestern Oklahoma State University?
Southwestern Oklahoma State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,459 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,084 at Southern Nazarene University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Southern Nazarene University and Southwestern Oklahoma State University?
Before aid, Southwestern Oklahoma State University costs about $23,334 a year and Southern Nazarene University about $46,465. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Southern Nazarene University or Southwestern Oklahoma State University?
Southwestern Oklahoma State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,987 there, against about $18,931 at Southern Nazarene University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Southern Nazarene University or Southwestern Oklahoma State University?
Southwestern Oklahoma State University is the larger of the two, with about 3,514 undergraduates against 1,455 at Southern Nazarene University.
Does Southern Nazarene University or Southwestern Oklahoma State University have a better graduation rate?
Southern Nazarene University has the higher graduation rate, at about 50% against 37% at Southwestern Oklahoma State University.
Do graduates of Southern Nazarene University or Southwestern Oklahoma State University earn more?
Southern Nazarene University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,951 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,744 for Southwestern Oklahoma State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Southern Nazarene University and Southwestern Oklahoma State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Southern Nazarene University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Southwestern Oklahoma State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Southern Nazarene University and Southwestern Oklahoma State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 930–1180 at Southern Nazarene University and 970–1180 at Southwestern Oklahoma State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school