Skip to content

Southwestern Adventist University vs Texas Tech University

Southwestern Adventist University is a private university in Keene, TX. Texas Tech University is a public university in Lubbock, TX. Texas Tech University admits about 73% of applicants and Southwestern Adventist University about 78%, making Texas Tech University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $19,070 a year at Texas Tech University after aid, and about $22,778 at Southwestern Adventist University. About 68% of students graduate at Texas Tech University, compared with 47% at Southwestern Adventist University. Ten years after enrolling, Texas Tech University alumni earn a median of about $62,454, against $52,946 for Southwestern Adventist University.

Southwestern Adventist University

Keene, TX · Private

Texas Tech University

Lubbock, TX · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Keene, TX
Lubbock, TX
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
570
32,394
Acceptance rate
78%
73%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.34–3.84
3.42–3.92
SAT (middle 50%)
910–1200
1090–1280
ACT (middle 50%)
17–25
23–28
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,778
$19,070
Full cost / yr
$35,592
$27,443
In-state tuition
$25,380
$11,852
Out-of-state tuition
$25,380
$24,451
Application fee
$25
$75
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,725
$12,457
$30k - $48k
$21,462
$13,851
$48k - $75k
$15,441
$17,058
$75k - $110k
$27,439
$22,073
Over $110k
$31,475
$24,622
Outcomes
Graduation rate
47%
68%
Freshman retention
73%
85%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,643
$52,588
Median earnings (10 yr)
$52,946
$62,454
Median debt at graduation
$26,998
$21,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
42%
28%
First-generation students
34%
32%
International students
5%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 1
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Southwestern Adventist University or Texas Tech University harder to get into?
Texas Tech University is harder to get into. It admits about 73% of applicants, compared with 78% at Southwestern Adventist University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Southwestern Adventist University or Texas Tech University?
Texas Tech University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $19,070 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,778 at Southwestern Adventist University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Southwestern Adventist University and Texas Tech University?
Before aid, Texas Tech University costs about $27,443 a year and Southwestern Adventist University about $35,592. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Southwestern Adventist University or Texas Tech University?
Texas Tech University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,457 there, against about $16,725 at Southwestern Adventist University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Southwestern Adventist University or Texas Tech University?
Texas Tech University is the larger of the two, with about 32,394 undergraduates against 570 at Southwestern Adventist University.
Does Southwestern Adventist University or Texas Tech University have a better graduation rate?
Texas Tech University has the higher graduation rate, at about 68% against 47% at Southwestern Adventist University.
Do graduates of Southwestern Adventist University or Texas Tech University earn more?
Texas Tech University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $62,454 ten years after enrolling, against about $52,946 for Southwestern Adventist University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Southwestern Adventist University and Texas Tech University require SAT or ACT scores?
Southwestern Adventist University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Texas Tech University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Southwestern Adventist University and Texas Tech University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 910–1200 at Southwestern Adventist University and 1090–1280 at Texas Tech University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school