Skip to content

Southwestern Adventist University vs The University of Texas at Arlington

Southwestern Adventist University is a private university in Keene, TX. The University of Texas at Arlington is a public university in Arlington, TX. Southwestern Adventist University admits about 78% of applicants and The University of Texas at Arlington about 80%, making Southwestern Adventist University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $13,951 a year at The University of Texas at Arlington after aid, and about $22,778 at Southwestern Adventist University. About 55% of students graduate at The University of Texas at Arlington, compared with 47% at Southwestern Adventist University. Ten years after enrolling, The University of Texas at Arlington alumni earn a median of about $63,199, against $52,946 for Southwestern Adventist University.

Southwestern Adventist University

Keene, TX · Private

The University of Texas at Arlington

Arlington, TX · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Keene, TX
Arlington, TX
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
570
32,294
Acceptance rate
78%
80%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.34–3.84
3.39–3.89
SAT (middle 50%)
910–1200
1010–1240
ACT (middle 50%)
17–25
19–27
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,778
$13,951
Full cost / yr
$35,592
$25,261
In-state tuition
$25,380
$11,950
Out-of-state tuition
$25,380
$29,582
Application fee
$25
$75
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,725
$11,893
$30k - $48k
$21,462
$12,003
$48k - $75k
$15,441
$12,612
$75k - $110k
$27,439
$16,371
Over $110k
$31,475
$24,692
Outcomes
Graduation rate
47%
55%
Freshman retention
73%
73%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,643
$60,902
Median earnings (10 yr)
$52,946
$63,199
Median debt at graduation
$26,998
$17,527
Student body
Pell grant recipients
42%
42%
First-generation students
34%
44%
International students
5%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 1
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Aug 5

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Southwestern Adventist University or The University of Texas at Arlington harder to get into?
Southwestern Adventist University is harder to get into. It admits about 78% of applicants, compared with 80% at The University of Texas at Arlington. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Southwestern Adventist University or The University of Texas at Arlington?
The University of Texas at Arlington is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,951 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,778 at Southwestern Adventist University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Southwestern Adventist University and The University of Texas at Arlington?
Before aid, The University of Texas at Arlington costs about $25,261 a year and Southwestern Adventist University about $35,592. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Southwestern Adventist University or The University of Texas at Arlington?
The University of Texas at Arlington. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,893 there, against about $16,725 at Southwestern Adventist University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Southwestern Adventist University or The University of Texas at Arlington?
The University of Texas at Arlington is the larger of the two, with about 32,294 undergraduates against 570 at Southwestern Adventist University.
Does Southwestern Adventist University or The University of Texas at Arlington have a better graduation rate?
The University of Texas at Arlington has the higher graduation rate, at about 55% against 47% at Southwestern Adventist University.
Do graduates of Southwestern Adventist University or The University of Texas at Arlington earn more?
The University of Texas at Arlington alumni earn more on average: a median of about $63,199 ten years after enrolling, against about $52,946 for Southwestern Adventist University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Southwestern Adventist University and The University of Texas at Arlington require SAT or ACT scores?
Southwestern Adventist University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. The University of Texas at Arlington is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Southwestern Adventist University and The University of Texas at Arlington look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 910–1200 at Southwestern Adventist University and 1010–1240 at The University of Texas at Arlington. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school