Skip to content

Stephen F Austin State University vs Texas A&M University-San Antonio

Stephen F Austin State University is a public university in Nacogdoches, TX, and Texas A&M University-San Antonio is a public university in San Antonio, TX. Texas A&M University-San Antonio is the more selective of the two, admitting about 93% of applicants against 94% at Stephen F Austin State University. Texas A&M University-San Antonio is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $11,196 a year against $14,260 at Stephen F Austin State University. About 53% of students graduate at Stephen F Austin State University, compared with 35% at Texas A&M University-San Antonio. Ten years after enrolling, Texas A&M University-San Antonio alumni earn a median of about $54,338, against $49,634 for Stephen F Austin State University.

Stephen F Austin State University

Nacogdoches, TX · Public

Texas A&M University-San Antonio

San Antonio, TX · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Nacogdoches, TX
San Antonio, TX
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
8,728
6,599
Acceptance rate
94%
93%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.14–3.64
3.11–3.61
SAT (middle 50%)
970–1170
840–1070
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
15–21
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,260
$11,196
Full cost / yr
$25,791
$21,655
In-state tuition
$11,128
$9,654
Out-of-state tuition
$23,426
$23,255
Application fee
$45
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,318
$9,596
$30k - $48k
$11,023
$10,423
$48k - $75k
$13,100
$12,898
$75k - $110k
$17,609
$16,267
Over $110k
$22,959
$13,021
Outcomes
Graduation rate
53%
35%
Freshman retention
72%
66%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,144
$43,479
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,634
$54,338
Median debt at graduation
$23,409
$18,401
Student body
Pell grant recipients
39%
51%
First-generation students
35%
53%
International students
1%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jun 29

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Stephen F Austin State University or Texas A&M University-San Antonio harder to get into?
Texas A&M University-San Antonio is harder to get into. It admits about 93% of applicants, compared with 94% at Stephen F Austin State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Stephen F Austin State University or Texas A&M University-San Antonio?
Texas A&M University-San Antonio is cheaper on average. Students pay about $11,196 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $14,260 at Stephen F Austin State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Stephen F Austin State University and Texas A&M University-San Antonio?
Before aid, Texas A&M University-San Antonio costs about $21,655 a year and Stephen F Austin State University about $25,791. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Stephen F Austin State University or Texas A&M University-San Antonio?
Texas A&M University-San Antonio. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,596 there, against about $10,318 at Stephen F Austin State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Stephen F Austin State University or Texas A&M University-San Antonio?
Stephen F Austin State University is the larger of the two, with about 8,728 undergraduates against 6,599 at Texas A&M University-San Antonio.
Does Stephen F Austin State University or Texas A&M University-San Antonio have a better graduation rate?
Stephen F Austin State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 53% against 35% at Texas A&M University-San Antonio.
Do graduates of Stephen F Austin State University or Texas A&M University-San Antonio earn more?
Texas A&M University-San Antonio alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,338 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,634 for Stephen F Austin State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Stephen F Austin State University and Texas A&M University-San Antonio require SAT or ACT scores?
Stephen F Austin State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Texas A&M University-San Antonio is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Stephen F Austin State University and Texas A&M University-San Antonio look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 970–1170 at Stephen F Austin State University and 840–1070 at Texas A&M University-San Antonio. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school