Skip to content

Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi vs Nelson University

Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi is a public university in Corpus Christi, TX, and Nelson University is a private university in Waxahachie, TX. Both admit about 89% of applicants. Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $15,225 a year against $21,662 at Nelson University. About 39% of students graduate at Nelson University, compared with 37% at Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi. Ten years after enrolling, Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi alumni earn a median of about $51,865, against $46,238 for Nelson University.

Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi

Corpus Christi, TX · Public

Nelson University

Waxahachie, TX · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Corpus Christi, TX
Waxahachie, TX
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
8,034
1,479
Acceptance rate
89%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.25–3.75
3.18–3.68
SAT (middle 50%)
970–1193
890–1090
ACT (middle 50%)
19–25
17–22
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$15,225
$21,662
Full cost / yr
$25,210
$34,504
In-state tuition
$9,748
$25,064
Out-of-state tuition
$20,794
$25,064
Application fee
$40
$35
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$11,445
$17,583
$30k - $48k
$11,961
$18,396
$48k - $75k
$14,180
$21,731
$75k - $110k
$19,479
$23,883
Over $110k
$23,426
$25,474
Outcomes
Graduation rate
37%
39%
Freshman retention
58%
75%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$42,933
$37,425
Median earnings (10 yr)
$51,865
$46,238
Median debt at graduation
$23,000
$24,725
Student body
Pell grant recipients
43%
48%
First-generation students
39%
38%
International students
2%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jul 1
Not reported

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi or Nelson University harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 89% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi or Nelson University?
Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,225 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $21,662 at Nelson University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi and Nelson University?
Before aid, Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi costs about $25,210 a year and Nelson University about $34,504. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi or Nelson University?
Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,445 there, against about $17,583 at Nelson University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi or Nelson University?
Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi is the larger of the two, with about 8,034 undergraduates against 1,479 at Nelson University.
Does Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi or Nelson University have a better graduation rate?
Nelson University has the higher graduation rate, at about 39% against 37% at Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi.
Do graduates of Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi or Nelson University earn more?
Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi alumni earn more on average: a median of about $51,865 ten years after enrolling, against about $46,238 for Nelson University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi and Nelson University require SAT or ACT scores?
Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Nelson University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi and Nelson University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 970–1193 at Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi and 890–1090 at Nelson University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school