Skip to content

The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art vs St. Thomas Aquinas College

The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art is a private university in New York, NY. St. Thomas Aquinas College is a private college in Sparkill, NY. The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art admits about 21% of applicants and St. Thomas Aquinas College about 93%, making The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $13,269 a year at The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art after aid, and about $19,994 at St. Thomas Aquinas College. About 81% of students graduate at The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art, compared with 58% at St. Thomas Aquinas College. Ten years after enrolling, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art alumni earn a median of about $83,847, against $62,909 for St. Thomas Aquinas College.

The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art

New York, NY · Private

St. Thomas Aquinas College

Sparkill, NY · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
New York, NY
Sparkill, NY
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
842
972
Acceptance rate
21%
93%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.48–4
3.1–3.6
SAT (middle 50%)
1295–1501
880–1085
ACT (middle 50%)
28–34
25–32
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,269
$19,994
Full cost / yr
$64,190
$53,370
In-state tuition
$46,820
$39,450
Out-of-state tuition
$46,820
$39,450
Application fee
$75
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$3,749
$11,746
$30k - $48k
$6,904
$13,700
$48k - $75k
$10,457
$24,110
$75k - $110k
$16,682
$23,907
Over $110k
$25,870
$27,333
Outcomes
Graduation rate
81%
58%
Freshman retention
92%
73%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,707
$44,908
Median earnings (10 yr)
$83,847
$62,909
Median debt at graduation
$15,000
$23,198
Student body
Pell grant recipients
28%
22%
First-generation students
19%
32%
International students
11%
9%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jan 5
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art or St. Thomas Aquinas College harder to get into?
The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art is harder to get into. It admits about 21% of applicants, compared with 93% at St. Thomas Aquinas College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art or St. Thomas Aquinas College?
The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,269 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $19,994 at St. Thomas Aquinas College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art and St. Thomas Aquinas College?
Before aid, St. Thomas Aquinas College costs about $53,370 a year and The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art about $64,190. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art or St. Thomas Aquinas College?
The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $3,749 there, against about $11,746 at St. Thomas Aquinas College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art or St. Thomas Aquinas College?
St. Thomas Aquinas College is the larger of the two, with about 972 undergraduates against 842 at The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art.
Does The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art or St. Thomas Aquinas College have a better graduation rate?
The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art has the higher graduation rate, at about 81% against 58% at St. Thomas Aquinas College.
Do graduates of The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art or St. Thomas Aquinas College earn more?
The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art alumni earn more on average: a median of about $83,847 ten years after enrolling, against about $62,909 for St. Thomas Aquinas College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art and St. Thomas Aquinas College require SAT or ACT scores?
The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. St. Thomas Aquinas College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art and St. Thomas Aquinas College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1295–1501 at The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art and 880–1085 at St. Thomas Aquinas College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school