Skip to content

The University of Montana vs Rocky Mountain College

The University of Montana is a public university in Missoula, MT, and Rocky Mountain College is a private college in Billings, MT. Rocky Mountain College is the more selective of the two, admitting about 70% of applicants against 96% at The University of Montana. The University of Montana is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $16,784 a year against $19,751 at Rocky Mountain College. About 48% of students graduate at Rocky Mountain College, compared with 47% at The University of Montana. Ten years after enrolling, Rocky Mountain College alumni earn a median of about $49,036, against $44,511 for The University of Montana.

The University of Montana

Missoula, MT · Public

Rocky Mountain College

Billings, MT · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Missoula, MT
Billings, MT
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
7,488
840
Acceptance rate
96%
70%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.19–3.69
3.37–3.87
SAT (middle 50%)
1070–1280
893–1133
ACT (middle 50%)
23–28
18–24
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$16,784
$19,751
Full cost / yr
$23,570
$46,093
In-state tuition
$8,552
$35,582
Out-of-state tuition
$33,671
$35,582
Application fee
$30
$35
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$13,960
$15,404
$30k - $48k
$14,892
$13,781
$48k - $75k
$17,180
$14,957
$75k - $110k
$19,269
$19,892
Over $110k
$20,930
$25,150
Outcomes
Graduation rate
47%
48%
Freshman retention
75%
69%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$35,729
$41,783
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,511
$49,036
Median debt at graduation
$22,400
$26,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
28%
31%
First-generation students
30%
32%
International students
1%
6%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is The University of Montana or Rocky Mountain College harder to get into?
Rocky Mountain College is harder to get into. It admits about 70% of applicants, compared with 96% at The University of Montana. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, The University of Montana or Rocky Mountain College?
The University of Montana is cheaper on average. Students pay about $16,784 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $19,751 at Rocky Mountain College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at The University of Montana and Rocky Mountain College?
Before aid, The University of Montana costs about $23,570 a year and Rocky Mountain College about $46,093. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, The University of Montana or Rocky Mountain College?
The University of Montana. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,960 there, against about $15,404 at Rocky Mountain College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, The University of Montana or Rocky Mountain College?
The University of Montana is the larger of the two, with about 7,488 undergraduates against 840 at Rocky Mountain College.
Does The University of Montana or Rocky Mountain College have a better graduation rate?
Rocky Mountain College has the higher graduation rate, at about 48% against 47% at The University of Montana.
Do graduates of The University of Montana or Rocky Mountain College earn more?
Rocky Mountain College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $49,036 ten years after enrolling, against about $44,511 for The University of Montana. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do The University of Montana and Rocky Mountain College require SAT or ACT scores?
The University of Montana is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Rocky Mountain College considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do The University of Montana and Rocky Mountain College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1070–1280 at The University of Montana and 893–1133 at Rocky Mountain College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school