Thomas Edison State University vs Pillar College
Thomas Edison State University is a public university in Trenton, NJ, and Pillar College is a private college in Newark, NJ. Both admit about 100% of applicants. Ten years after enrolling, Thomas Edison State University alumni earn a median of about $69,331, against $45,577 for Pillar College.
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Trenton, NJ
Newark, NJ
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
6,707
498
Acceptance rate
100%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.2–3.7
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
Not reported
Test policy
Not reported
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
Not reported
$8,470
Full cost / yr
Not reported
$38,047
In-state tuition
$6,838
$25,900
Out-of-state tuition
$8,856
$25,900
Application fee
$50
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
Not reported
$15,139
$30k - $48k
Not reported
$7,114
$48k - $75k
Not reported
$3,181
$75k - $110k
Not reported
$4,411
Over $110k
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
Not reported
36%
Freshman retention
Not reported
74%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$65,570
$37,885
Median earnings (10 yr)
$69,331
$45,577
Median debt at graduation
$12,500
$21,483
Student body
Pell grant recipients
24%
70%
First-generation students
44%
59%
International students
1%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling
Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.
- Is Thomas Edison State University or Pillar College harder to get into?
- They are about equally selective: both admit around 100% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
- Which is bigger, Thomas Edison State University or Pillar College?
- Thomas Edison State University is the larger of the two, with about 6,707 undergraduates against 498 at Pillar College.
- Do graduates of Thomas Edison State University or Pillar College earn more?
- Thomas Edison State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $69,331 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,577 for Pillar College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Related comparisons
Thomas Edison State University vs Princeton UniversityThomas Edison State University vs The College of New JerseyThomas Edison State University vs New Jersey Institute of TechnologyPillar College vs Talmudical Academy-New JerseyPillar College vs Yeshiva Toras ChaimPillar College vs Beth Medrash of Asbury Park
Which of these is the better fit for you?
These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.
1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school