Skip to content

Thomas Jefferson University vs Washington & Jefferson College

Thomas Jefferson University is a private university in Philadelphia, PA. Washington & Jefferson College is a private college in Washington, PA. Both admit about 81% of applicants. Students pay an average of about $25,002 a year at Washington & Jefferson College after aid, and about $28,928 at Thomas Jefferson University. About 70% of students graduate at Washington & Jefferson College, compared with 68% at Thomas Jefferson University. Ten years after enrolling, Thomas Jefferson University alumni earn a median of about $77,449, against $67,918 for Washington & Jefferson College.

Thomas Jefferson University

Philadelphia, PA · Private

Washington & Jefferson College

Washington, PA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Philadelphia, PA
Washington, PA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
3,755
1,295
Acceptance rate
81%
81%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.43–3.93
3.39–3.89
SAT (middle 50%)
1160–1330
1010–1250
ACT (middle 50%)
25–30
19–28
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$28,928
$25,002
Full cost / yr
$64,197
$42,972
In-state tuition
$47,505
$29,392
Out-of-state tuition
$47,505
$29,392
Application fee
$50
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$22,537
$15,265
$30k - $48k
$24,407
$13,958
$48k - $75k
$24,680
$18,975
$75k - $110k
$29,734
$32,322
Over $110k
$34,889
$29,655
Outcomes
Graduation rate
68%
70%
Freshman retention
82%
81%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$64,335
$52,082
Median earnings (10 yr)
$77,449
$67,918
Median debt at graduation
$14,744
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
37%
31%
First-generation students
33%
22%
International students
2%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Dec 15
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jul 31
Apr 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Thomas Jefferson University or Washington & Jefferson College harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 81% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Thomas Jefferson University or Washington & Jefferson College?
Washington & Jefferson College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $25,002 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $28,928 at Thomas Jefferson University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Thomas Jefferson University and Washington & Jefferson College?
Before aid, Washington & Jefferson College costs about $42,972 a year and Thomas Jefferson University about $64,197. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Thomas Jefferson University or Washington & Jefferson College?
Washington & Jefferson College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $15,265 there, against about $22,537 at Thomas Jefferson University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Thomas Jefferson University or Washington & Jefferson College?
Thomas Jefferson University is the larger of the two, with about 3,755 undergraduates against 1,295 at Washington & Jefferson College.
Does Thomas Jefferson University or Washington & Jefferson College have a better graduation rate?
Washington & Jefferson College has the higher graduation rate, at about 70% against 68% at Thomas Jefferson University.
Do graduates of Thomas Jefferson University or Washington & Jefferson College earn more?
Thomas Jefferson University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $77,449 ten years after enrolling, against about $67,918 for Washington & Jefferson College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Thomas Jefferson University and Washington & Jefferson College require SAT or ACT scores?
Thomas Jefferson University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Washington & Jefferson College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Thomas Jefferson University and Washington & Jefferson College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1160–1330 at Thomas Jefferson University and 1010–1250 at Washington & Jefferson College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school