Skip to content

Truman State University vs Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies

Truman State University is a public university in Kirksville, MO, and Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies is a private college in Fayette, MO. Truman State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 84% of applicants against 88% at Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies. Truman State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $12,780 a year against $14,601 at Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies. Ten years after enrolling, Truman State University alumni earn a median of about $56,280, against $48,991 for Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies.

Truman State University

Kirksville, MO · Public

Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies

Fayette, MO · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Kirksville, MO
Fayette, MO
Setting
Suburban
Rural
Undergraduates
2,513
2,092
Acceptance rate
84%
88%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.42–3.92
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
1170–1370
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
25–31
19–25
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$12,780
$14,601
Full cost / yr
$25,115
$22,310
In-state tuition
$9,838
$7,440
Out-of-state tuition
$18,566
$7,440
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$6,046
$14,601
$30k - $48k
$7,926
Not reported
$48k - $75k
$12,426
Not reported
$75k - $110k
$15,425
Not reported
Over $110k
$17,220
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
68%
Not reported
Freshman retention
85%
53%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,966
$43,860
Median earnings (10 yr)
$56,280
$48,991
Median debt at graduation
$21,000
$17,619
Student body
Pell grant recipients
17%
32%
First-generation students
23%
44%
International students
10%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Truman State University or Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies harder to get into?
Truman State University is harder to get into. It admits about 84% of applicants, compared with 88% at Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Truman State University or Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies?
Truman State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $12,780 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $14,601 at Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Truman State University and Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies?
Before aid, Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies costs about $22,310 a year and Truman State University about $25,115. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Truman State University or Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies?
Truman State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $6,046 there, against about $14,601 at Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Truman State University or Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies?
Truman State University is the larger of the two, with about 2,513 undergraduates against 2,092 at Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies.
Do graduates of Truman State University or Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies earn more?
Truman State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $56,280 ten years after enrolling, against about $48,991 for Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Truman State University and Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies require SAT or ACT scores?
Truman State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school