Tuskegee University vs Strayer University-Alabama
Tuskegee University is a private university in Tuskegee, AL, and Strayer University-Alabama is a private for-profit university in Birmingham, AL. Tuskegee University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 49% of applicants against 100% at Strayer University-Alabama. Ten years after enrolling, Tuskegee University alumni earn a median of about $49,641, against $40,092 for Strayer University-Alabama.
At a glance
Type
Private
Private (for-profit)
Location
Tuskegee, AL
Birmingham, AL
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
2,630
1,196
Acceptance rate
49%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.36–4
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
995–1255
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
18–25
Not reported
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$35,013
Not reported
Full cost / yr
$43,454
Not reported
In-state tuition
$25,386
$13,920
Out-of-state tuition
$25,386
$13,920
Application fee
$25
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$34,324
Not reported
$30k - $48k
$34,069
Not reported
$48k - $75k
$34,855
Not reported
$75k - $110k
$37,772
Not reported
Over $110k
$36,778
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
56%
Not reported
Freshman retention
81%
Not reported
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,332
$36,582
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,641
$40,092
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$40,621
Student body
Pell grant recipients
58%
85%
First-generation students
23%
54%
International students
0%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling
Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.
- Is Tuskegee University or Strayer University-Alabama harder to get into?
- Tuskegee University is harder to get into. It admits about 49% of applicants, compared with 100% at Strayer University-Alabama. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
- Which is bigger, Tuskegee University or Strayer University-Alabama?
- Tuskegee University is the larger of the two, with about 2,630 undergraduates against 1,196 at Strayer University-Alabama.
- Do graduates of Tuskegee University or Strayer University-Alabama earn more?
- Tuskegee University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $49,641 ten years after enrolling, against about $40,092 for Strayer University-Alabama. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
- Do Tuskegee University and Strayer University-Alabama require SAT or ACT scores?
- Tuskegee University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Strayer University-Alabama is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
Related comparisons
Which of these is the better fit for you?
These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.
1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school