Skip to content

University of Alabama in Huntsville vs Auburn University

University of Alabama in Huntsville is a public university in Huntsville, AL, and Auburn University is a public university in Auburn, AL. Auburn University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 46% of applicants against 69% at University of Alabama in Huntsville. University of Alabama in Huntsville is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $18,796 a year against $24,323 at Auburn University. About 81% of students graduate at Auburn University, compared with 63% at University of Alabama in Huntsville. Ten years after enrolling, Auburn University alumni earn a median of about $65,337, against $61,767 for University of Alabama in Huntsville.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

University of Alabama in Huntsville

Huntsville, AL · Public

Auburn University

Auburn, AL · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Huntsville, AL
Auburn, AL
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
6,591
26,816
Acceptance rate
69%
46%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.52–4
3.45–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1210–1410
1260–1390
ACT (middle 50%)
24–31
26–31
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,796
$24,323
Full cost / yr
$27,392
$34,919
In-state tuition
$12,132
$12,890
Out-of-state tuition
$26,408
$34,922
Application fee
$30
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,192
$16,681
$30k - $48k
$16,532
$17,627
$48k - $75k
$18,210
$20,558
$75k - $110k
$20,777
$25,808
Over $110k
$21,501
$29,547
Outcomes
Graduation rate
63%
81%
Freshman retention
84%
95%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$55,610
$54,629
Median earnings (10 yr)
$61,767
$65,337
Median debt at graduation
$20,705
$21,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
25%
13%
First-generation students
31%
17%
International students
1%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Dec 1
Regular decision
Rolling
Feb 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Alabama in Huntsville or Auburn University harder to get into?
Auburn University is harder to get into. It admits about 46% of applicants, compared with 69% at University of Alabama in Huntsville. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Alabama in Huntsville or Auburn University?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,796 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,323 at Auburn University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Alabama in Huntsville and Auburn University?
Before aid, University of Alabama in Huntsville costs about $27,392 a year and Auburn University about $34,919. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Alabama in Huntsville or Auburn University?
University of Alabama in Huntsville. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,192 there, against about $16,681 at Auburn University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Alabama in Huntsville or Auburn University?
Auburn University is the larger of the two, with about 26,816 undergraduates against 6,591 at University of Alabama in Huntsville.
Does University of Alabama in Huntsville or Auburn University have a better graduation rate?
Auburn University has the higher graduation rate, at about 81% against 63% at University of Alabama in Huntsville.
Do graduates of University of Alabama in Huntsville or Auburn University earn more?
Auburn University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $65,337 ten years after enrolling, against about $61,767 for University of Alabama in Huntsville. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Alabama in Huntsville and Auburn University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Auburn University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Alabama in Huntsville and Auburn University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1210–1410 at University of Alabama in Huntsville and 1260–1390 at Auburn University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school