Skip to content

University of Alabama in Huntsville vs Huntingdon College

University of Alabama in Huntsville is a public university in Huntsville, AL. Huntingdon College is a private college in Montgomery, AL. Both admit about 69% of applicants. Students pay an average of about $18,796 a year at University of Alabama in Huntsville after aid, and about $22,566 at Huntingdon College. About 63% of students graduate at University of Alabama in Huntsville, compared with 47% at Huntingdon College. Ten years after enrolling, University of Alabama in Huntsville alumni earn a median of about $61,767, against $49,601 for Huntingdon College.

University of Alabama in Huntsville

Huntsville, AL · Public

Huntingdon College

Montgomery, AL · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Huntsville, AL
Montgomery, AL
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
6,591
879
Acceptance rate
69%
69%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.52–4
3.43–3.93
SAT (middle 50%)
1210–1410
1006–1220
ACT (middle 50%)
24–31
20–25
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,796
$22,566
Full cost / yr
$27,392
$40,908
In-state tuition
$12,132
$29,070
Out-of-state tuition
$26,408
$29,070
Application fee
$30
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,192
$20,435
$30k - $48k
$16,532
$19,992
$48k - $75k
$18,210
$22,966
$75k - $110k
$20,777
$24,589
Over $110k
$21,501
$24,713
Outcomes
Graduation rate
63%
47%
Freshman retention
84%
67%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$55,610
$42,147
Median earnings (10 yr)
$61,767
$49,601
Median debt at graduation
$20,705
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
25%
40%
First-generation students
31%
35%
International students
1%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Alabama in Huntsville or Huntingdon College harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 69% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Alabama in Huntsville or Huntingdon College?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,796 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,566 at Huntingdon College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Alabama in Huntsville and Huntingdon College?
Before aid, University of Alabama in Huntsville costs about $27,392 a year and Huntingdon College about $40,908. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Alabama in Huntsville or Huntingdon College?
University of Alabama in Huntsville. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,192 there, against about $20,435 at Huntingdon College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Alabama in Huntsville or Huntingdon College?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is the larger of the two, with about 6,591 undergraduates against 879 at Huntingdon College.
Does University of Alabama in Huntsville or Huntingdon College have a better graduation rate?
University of Alabama in Huntsville has the higher graduation rate, at about 63% against 47% at Huntingdon College.
Do graduates of University of Alabama in Huntsville or Huntingdon College earn more?
University of Alabama in Huntsville alumni earn more on average: a median of about $61,767 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,601 for Huntingdon College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Alabama in Huntsville and Huntingdon College require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Huntingdon College considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do University of Alabama in Huntsville and Huntingdon College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1210–1410 at University of Alabama in Huntsville and 1006–1220 at Huntingdon College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school