Skip to content

University of Alabama in Huntsville vs Oakwood University

University of Alabama in Huntsville is a public university in Huntsville, AL, and Oakwood University is a private university in Huntsville, AL. Oakwood University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 45% of applicants against 69% at University of Alabama in Huntsville. University of Alabama in Huntsville is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $18,796 a year against $25,669 at Oakwood University. About 63% of students graduate at University of Alabama in Huntsville, compared with 47% at Oakwood University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Alabama in Huntsville alumni earn a median of about $61,767, against $42,488 for Oakwood University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

University of Alabama in Huntsville

Huntsville, AL · Public

Oakwood University

Huntsville, AL · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Huntsville, AL
Huntsville, AL
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
6,591
1,153
Acceptance rate
69%
45%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.52–4
3.24–3.94
SAT (middle 50%)
1210–1410
853–1108
ACT (middle 50%)
24–31
16–23
Test policy
Test optional
Required
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,796
$25,669
Full cost / yr
$27,392
$40,176
In-state tuition
$12,132
$22,512
Out-of-state tuition
$26,408
$22,512
Application fee
$30
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,192
$23,999
$30k - $48k
$16,532
$22,444
$48k - $75k
$18,210
$24,501
$75k - $110k
$20,777
$28,074
Over $110k
$21,501
$27,219
Outcomes
Graduation rate
63%
47%
Freshman retention
84%
71%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$55,610
$30,969
Median earnings (10 yr)
$61,767
$42,488
Median debt at graduation
$20,705
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
25%
44%
First-generation students
31%
18%
International students
1%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Alabama in Huntsville or Oakwood University harder to get into?
Oakwood University is harder to get into. It admits about 45% of applicants, compared with 69% at University of Alabama in Huntsville. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Alabama in Huntsville or Oakwood University?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,796 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,669 at Oakwood University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Alabama in Huntsville and Oakwood University?
Before aid, University of Alabama in Huntsville costs about $27,392 a year and Oakwood University about $40,176. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Alabama in Huntsville or Oakwood University?
University of Alabama in Huntsville. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,192 there, against about $23,999 at Oakwood University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Alabama in Huntsville or Oakwood University?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is the larger of the two, with about 6,591 undergraduates against 1,153 at Oakwood University.
Does University of Alabama in Huntsville or Oakwood University have a better graduation rate?
University of Alabama in Huntsville has the higher graduation rate, at about 63% against 47% at Oakwood University.
Do graduates of University of Alabama in Huntsville or Oakwood University earn more?
University of Alabama in Huntsville alumni earn more on average: a median of about $61,767 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,488 for Oakwood University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Alabama in Huntsville and Oakwood University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Oakwood University requires SAT or ACT scores.
What SAT scores do University of Alabama in Huntsville and Oakwood University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1210–1410 at University of Alabama in Huntsville and 853–1108 at Oakwood University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school