Skip to content

University of Alabama in Huntsville vs Tuskegee University

University of Alabama in Huntsville is a public university in Huntsville, AL. Tuskegee University is a private university in Tuskegee, AL. Tuskegee University admits about 49% of applicants and University of Alabama in Huntsville about 69%, making Tuskegee University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $18,796 a year at University of Alabama in Huntsville after aid, and about $35,013 at Tuskegee University. About 63% of students graduate at University of Alabama in Huntsville, compared with 56% at Tuskegee University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Alabama in Huntsville alumni earn a median of about $61,767, against $49,641 for Tuskegee University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

University of Alabama in Huntsville

Huntsville, AL · Public

Tuskegee University

Tuskegee, AL · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Huntsville, AL
Tuskegee, AL
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
6,591
2,630
Acceptance rate
69%
49%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.52–4
3.36–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1210–1410
995–1255
ACT (middle 50%)
24–31
18–25
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,796
$35,013
Full cost / yr
$27,392
$43,454
In-state tuition
$12,132
$25,386
Out-of-state tuition
$26,408
$25,386
Application fee
$30
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,192
$34,324
$30k - $48k
$16,532
$34,069
$48k - $75k
$18,210
$34,855
$75k - $110k
$20,777
$37,772
Over $110k
$21,501
$36,778
Outcomes
Graduation rate
63%
56%
Freshman retention
84%
81%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$55,610
$38,332
Median earnings (10 yr)
$61,767
$49,641
Median debt at graduation
$20,705
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
25%
58%
First-generation students
31%
23%
International students
1%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Alabama in Huntsville or Tuskegee University harder to get into?
Tuskegee University is harder to get into. It admits about 49% of applicants, compared with 69% at University of Alabama in Huntsville. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Alabama in Huntsville or Tuskegee University?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,796 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $35,013 at Tuskegee University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Alabama in Huntsville and Tuskegee University?
Before aid, University of Alabama in Huntsville costs about $27,392 a year and Tuskegee University about $43,454. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Alabama in Huntsville or Tuskegee University?
University of Alabama in Huntsville. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,192 there, against about $34,324 at Tuskegee University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Alabama in Huntsville or Tuskegee University?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is the larger of the two, with about 6,591 undergraduates against 2,630 at Tuskegee University.
Does University of Alabama in Huntsville or Tuskegee University have a better graduation rate?
University of Alabama in Huntsville has the higher graduation rate, at about 63% against 56% at Tuskegee University.
Do graduates of University of Alabama in Huntsville or Tuskegee University earn more?
University of Alabama in Huntsville alumni earn more on average: a median of about $61,767 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,641 for Tuskegee University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Alabama in Huntsville and Tuskegee University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Tuskegee University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do University of Alabama in Huntsville and Tuskegee University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1210–1410 at University of Alabama in Huntsville and 995–1255 at Tuskegee University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school