Skip to content

University of Alabama in Huntsville vs United States Sports University

University of Alabama in Huntsville is a public university in Huntsville, AL. United States Sports University is a private university in Daphne, AL. United States Sports University admits about 61% of applicants and University of Alabama in Huntsville about 69%, making United States Sports University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $18,796 a year at University of Alabama in Huntsville after aid, and about $24,076 at United States Sports University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Alabama in Huntsville alumni earn a median of about $61,767, against $55,257 for United States Sports University.

University of Alabama in Huntsville

Huntsville, AL · Public

United States Sports University

Daphne, AL · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Huntsville, AL
Daphne, AL
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
6,591
228
Acceptance rate
69%
61%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.52–4
3.59–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1210–1410
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
24–31
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,796
$24,076
Full cost / yr
$27,392
$32,606
In-state tuition
$12,132
$13,800
Out-of-state tuition
$26,408
$13,800
Application fee
$30
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,192
$21,550
$30k - $48k
$16,532
$24,731
$48k - $75k
$18,210
Not reported
$75k - $110k
$20,777
$25,993
Over $110k
$21,501
$31,606
Outcomes
Graduation rate
63%
Not reported
Freshman retention
84%
43%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$55,610
$45,521
Median earnings (10 yr)
$61,767
$55,257
Median debt at graduation
$20,705
Not reported
Student body
Pell grant recipients
25%
45%
First-generation students
31%
Not reported
International students
1%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Aug 17

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Alabama in Huntsville or United States Sports University harder to get into?
United States Sports University is harder to get into. It admits about 61% of applicants, compared with 69% at University of Alabama in Huntsville. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Alabama in Huntsville or United States Sports University?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,796 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,076 at United States Sports University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Alabama in Huntsville and United States Sports University?
Before aid, University of Alabama in Huntsville costs about $27,392 a year and United States Sports University about $32,606. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Alabama in Huntsville or United States Sports University?
University of Alabama in Huntsville. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,192 there, against about $21,550 at United States Sports University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Alabama in Huntsville or United States Sports University?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is the larger of the two, with about 6,591 undergraduates against 228 at United States Sports University.
Do graduates of University of Alabama in Huntsville or United States Sports University earn more?
University of Alabama in Huntsville alumni earn more on average: a median of about $61,767 ten years after enrolling, against about $55,257 for United States Sports University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Alabama in Huntsville and United States Sports University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. United States Sports University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school