Skip to content

University of Alabama in Huntsville vs University of North Alabama

University of Alabama in Huntsville is a public university in Huntsville, AL. University of North Alabama is a public university in Florence, AL. University of Alabama in Huntsville admits about 69% of applicants and University of North Alabama about 87%, making University of Alabama in Huntsville the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $12,170 a year at University of North Alabama after aid, and about $18,796 at University of Alabama in Huntsville. About 63% of students graduate at University of Alabama in Huntsville, compared with 54% at University of North Alabama. Ten years after enrolling, University of Alabama in Huntsville alumni earn a median of about $61,767, against $45,415 for University of North Alabama.

University of Alabama in Huntsville

Huntsville, AL · Public

University of North Alabama

Florence, AL · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Huntsville, AL
Florence, AL
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
6,591
5,811
Acceptance rate
69%
87%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.52–4
3.27–3.77
SAT (middle 50%)
1210–1410
1015–1180
ACT (middle 50%)
24–31
20–26
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,796
$12,170
Full cost / yr
$27,392
$23,786
In-state tuition
$12,132
$12,120
Out-of-state tuition
$26,408
$22,320
Application fee
$30
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,192
$9,741
$30k - $48k
$16,532
$10,127
$48k - $75k
$18,210
$11,665
$75k - $110k
$20,777
$13,903
Over $110k
$21,501
$14,866
Outcomes
Graduation rate
63%
54%
Freshman retention
84%
80%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$55,610
$38,295
Median earnings (10 yr)
$61,767
$45,415
Median debt at graduation
$20,705
$22,077
Student body
Pell grant recipients
25%
24%
First-generation students
31%
36%
International students
1%
6%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Alabama in Huntsville or University of North Alabama harder to get into?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is harder to get into. It admits about 69% of applicants, compared with 87% at University of North Alabama. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Alabama in Huntsville or University of North Alabama?
University of North Alabama is cheaper on average. Students pay about $12,170 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,796 at University of Alabama in Huntsville. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Alabama in Huntsville and University of North Alabama?
Before aid, University of North Alabama costs about $23,786 a year and University of Alabama in Huntsville about $27,392. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Alabama in Huntsville or University of North Alabama?
University of North Alabama. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,741 there, against about $16,192 at University of Alabama in Huntsville. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Alabama in Huntsville or University of North Alabama?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is the larger of the two, with about 6,591 undergraduates against 5,811 at University of North Alabama.
Does University of Alabama in Huntsville or University of North Alabama have a better graduation rate?
University of Alabama in Huntsville has the higher graduation rate, at about 63% against 54% at University of North Alabama.
Do graduates of University of Alabama in Huntsville or University of North Alabama earn more?
University of Alabama in Huntsville alumni earn more on average: a median of about $61,767 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,415 for University of North Alabama. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Alabama in Huntsville and University of North Alabama require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Alabama in Huntsville is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of North Alabama is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Alabama in Huntsville and University of North Alabama look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1210–1410 at University of Alabama in Huntsville and 1015–1180 at University of North Alabama. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school