Skip to content

University of Arkansas vs John Brown University

University of Arkansas is a public university in Fayetteville, AR, and John Brown University is a private university in Siloam Springs, AR. University of Arkansas is the more selective of the two, admitting about 74% of applicants against 76% at John Brown University. University of Arkansas is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $18,209 a year against $20,397 at John Brown University. About 70% of students graduate at University of Arkansas, compared with 69% at John Brown University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Arkansas alumni earn a median of about $58,191, against $53,907 for John Brown University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

University of Arkansas

Fayetteville, AR · Public

John Brown University

Siloam Springs, AR · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Fayetteville, AR
Siloam Springs, AR
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
28,677
1,471
Acceptance rate
74%
76%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.41–3.91
3.45–3.95
SAT (middle 50%)
1030–1220
1070–1340
ACT (middle 50%)
21–28
21–28
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,209
$20,397
Full cost / yr
$27,767
$44,710
In-state tuition
$10,104
$31,756
Out-of-state tuition
$29,966
$31,756
Application fee
$40
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$14,319
$17,484
$30k - $48k
$14,322
$17,210
$48k - $75k
$15,934
$16,655
$75k - $110k
$20,772
$21,433
Over $110k
$22,470
$24,627
Outcomes
Graduation rate
70%
69%
Freshman retention
86%
81%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$49,686
$46,114
Median earnings (10 yr)
$58,191
$53,907
Median debt at graduation
$21,500
$21,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
18%
24%
First-generation students
26%
29%
International students
1%
10%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Arkansas or John Brown University harder to get into?
University of Arkansas is harder to get into. It admits about 74% of applicants, compared with 76% at John Brown University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Arkansas or John Brown University?
University of Arkansas is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,209 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,397 at John Brown University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Arkansas and John Brown University?
Before aid, University of Arkansas costs about $27,767 a year and John Brown University about $44,710. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Arkansas or John Brown University?
University of Arkansas. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $14,319 there, against about $17,484 at John Brown University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Arkansas or John Brown University?
University of Arkansas is the larger of the two, with about 28,677 undergraduates against 1,471 at John Brown University.
Does University of Arkansas or John Brown University have a better graduation rate?
University of Arkansas has the higher graduation rate, at about 70% against 69% at John Brown University.
Do graduates of University of Arkansas or John Brown University earn more?
University of Arkansas alumni earn more on average: a median of about $58,191 ten years after enrolling, against about $53,907 for John Brown University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Arkansas and John Brown University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Arkansas considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. John Brown University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Arkansas and John Brown University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1030–1220 at University of Arkansas and 1070–1340 at John Brown University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school