Skip to content

University of Arkansas at Little Rock vs Southern Arkansas University Main Campus

University of Arkansas at Little Rock is a public university in Little Rock, AR, and Southern Arkansas University Main Campus is a public university in Magnolia, AR. University of Arkansas at Little Rock is the more selective of the two, admitting about 59% of applicants against 75% at Southern Arkansas University Main Campus. Southern Arkansas University Main Campus is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,027 a year against $17,248 at University of Arkansas at Little Rock. About 48% of students graduate at Southern Arkansas University Main Campus, compared with 42% at University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Ten years after enrolling, University of Arkansas at Little Rock alumni earn a median of about $45,265, against $42,386 for Southern Arkansas University Main Campus.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Little Rock, AR · Public

Southern Arkansas University Main Campus

Magnolia, AR · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Little Rock, AR
Magnolia, AR
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
4,949
2,708
Acceptance rate
59%
75%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.4–3.9
3.29–3.79
SAT (middle 50%)
960–1210
875–1105
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
17–24
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$17,248
$14,027
Full cost / yr
$22,519
$24,951
In-state tuition
$9,748
$9,960
Out-of-state tuition
$22,158
$15,690
Application fee
$40
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$15,195
$13,187
$30k - $48k
$16,250
$12,827
$48k - $75k
$19,018
$13,790
$75k - $110k
$21,087
$15,654
Over $110k
$22,255
$19,244
Outcomes
Graduation rate
42%
48%
Freshman retention
76%
66%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,040
$37,008
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,265
$42,386
Median debt at graduation
$22,000
$18,750
Student body
Pell grant recipients
41%
48%
First-generation students
39%
42%
International students
3%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Jan 15
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Arkansas at Little Rock or Southern Arkansas University Main Campus harder to get into?
University of Arkansas at Little Rock is harder to get into. It admits about 59% of applicants, compared with 75% at Southern Arkansas University Main Campus. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Arkansas at Little Rock or Southern Arkansas University Main Campus?
Southern Arkansas University Main Campus is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,027 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,248 at University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Arkansas at Little Rock and Southern Arkansas University Main Campus?
Before aid, University of Arkansas at Little Rock costs about $22,519 a year and Southern Arkansas University Main Campus about $24,951. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Arkansas at Little Rock or Southern Arkansas University Main Campus?
Southern Arkansas University Main Campus. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,187 there, against about $15,195 at University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Arkansas at Little Rock or Southern Arkansas University Main Campus?
University of Arkansas at Little Rock is the larger of the two, with about 4,949 undergraduates against 2,708 at Southern Arkansas University Main Campus.
Does University of Arkansas at Little Rock or Southern Arkansas University Main Campus have a better graduation rate?
Southern Arkansas University Main Campus has the higher graduation rate, at about 48% against 42% at University of Arkansas at Little Rock.
Do graduates of University of Arkansas at Little Rock or Southern Arkansas University Main Campus earn more?
University of Arkansas at Little Rock alumni earn more on average: a median of about $45,265 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,386 for Southern Arkansas University Main Campus. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Arkansas at Little Rock and Southern Arkansas University Main Campus require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Arkansas at Little Rock considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Southern Arkansas University Main Campus is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Arkansas at Little Rock and Southern Arkansas University Main Campus look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 960–1210 at University of Arkansas at Little Rock and 875–1105 at Southern Arkansas University Main Campus. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school