Skip to content

University of Bridgeport vs Southern Connecticut State University

University of Bridgeport is a private university in Bridgeport, CT. Southern Connecticut State University is a public university in New Haven, CT. University of Bridgeport admits about 83% of applicants and Southern Connecticut State University about 91%, making University of Bridgeport the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $20,857 a year at Southern Connecticut State University after aid, and about $27,807 at University of Bridgeport. About 49% of students graduate at Southern Connecticut State University, compared with 45% at University of Bridgeport. Ten years after enrolling, Southern Connecticut State University alumni earn a median of about $55,043, against $50,323 for University of Bridgeport.

University of Bridgeport

Bridgeport, CT · Private

Southern Connecticut State University

New Haven, CT · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Bridgeport, CT
New Haven, CT
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,534
6,295
Acceptance rate
83%
91%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.26–3.76
3.19–3.69
SAT (middle 50%)
880–1115
910–1090
ACT (middle 50%)
17–22
16–25
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$27,807
$20,857
Full cost / yr
$52,957
$29,673
In-state tuition
$35,760
$13,438
Out-of-state tuition
$35,760
$27,378
Application fee
$0
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$27,238
$17,736
$30k - $48k
$28,124
$18,729
$48k - $75k
$26,062
$19,437
$75k - $110k
$27,487
$22,532
Over $110k
$29,733
$27,809
Outcomes
Graduation rate
45%
49%
Freshman retention
61%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,575
$45,422
Median earnings (10 yr)
$50,323
$55,043
Median debt at graduation
$25,750
$22,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
53%
41%
First-generation students
42%
39%
International students
5%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 1
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Bridgeport or Southern Connecticut State University harder to get into?
University of Bridgeport is harder to get into. It admits about 83% of applicants, compared with 91% at Southern Connecticut State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Bridgeport or Southern Connecticut State University?
Southern Connecticut State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $20,857 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $27,807 at University of Bridgeport. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Bridgeport and Southern Connecticut State University?
Before aid, Southern Connecticut State University costs about $29,673 a year and University of Bridgeport about $52,957. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Bridgeport or Southern Connecticut State University?
Southern Connecticut State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $17,736 there, against about $27,238 at University of Bridgeport. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Bridgeport or Southern Connecticut State University?
Southern Connecticut State University is the larger of the two, with about 6,295 undergraduates against 1,534 at University of Bridgeport.
Does University of Bridgeport or Southern Connecticut State University have a better graduation rate?
Southern Connecticut State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 49% against 45% at University of Bridgeport.
Do graduates of University of Bridgeport or Southern Connecticut State University earn more?
Southern Connecticut State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,043 ten years after enrolling, against about $50,323 for University of Bridgeport. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Bridgeport and Southern Connecticut State University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Bridgeport is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Southern Connecticut State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Bridgeport and Southern Connecticut State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 880–1115 at University of Bridgeport and 910–1090 at Southern Connecticut State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school