Skip to content

University of California-Irvine vs Hope International University

University of California-Irvine is a public university in Irvine, CA, and Hope International University is a private university in Fullerton, CA. University of California-Irvine is the more selective of the two, admitting about 29% of applicants against 33% at Hope International University. University of California-Irvine is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,251 a year against $29,310 at Hope International University. About 86% of students graduate at University of California-Irvine, compared with 48% at Hope International University. Ten years after enrolling, University of California-Irvine alumni earn a median of about $80,735, against $49,697 for Hope International University.

University of California-Irvine

Irvine, CA · Public

Hope International University

Fullerton, CA · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Irvine, CA
Fullerton, CA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
30,197
564
Acceptance rate
29%
33%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.46–4
3.3–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1230–1430
840–1220
ACT (middle 50%)
26–33
18–24
Test policy
Test blind
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,251
$29,310
Full cost / yr
$38,632
$51,784
In-state tuition
$15,722
$38,050
Out-of-state tuition
$49,922
$38,050
Application fee
$80
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$8,123
$27,991
$30k - $48k
$9,313
$31,016
$48k - $75k
$11,642
$34,451
$75k - $110k
$15,164
$33,634
Over $110k
$30,546
$34,049
Outcomes
Graduation rate
86%
48%
Freshman retention
94%
52%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$56,210
$36,030
Median earnings (10 yr)
$80,735
$49,697
Median debt at graduation
$15,000
$23,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
36%
44%
First-generation students
44%
39%
International students
12%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Dec 1
Regular decision
Nov 30
Aug 20

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of California-Irvine or Hope International University harder to get into?
University of California-Irvine is harder to get into. It admits about 29% of applicants, compared with 33% at Hope International University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of California-Irvine or Hope International University?
University of California-Irvine is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,251 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $29,310 at Hope International University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of California-Irvine and Hope International University?
Before aid, University of California-Irvine costs about $38,632 a year and Hope International University about $51,784. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of California-Irvine or Hope International University?
University of California-Irvine. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,123 there, against about $27,991 at Hope International University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of California-Irvine or Hope International University?
University of California-Irvine is the larger of the two, with about 30,197 undergraduates against 564 at Hope International University.
Does University of California-Irvine or Hope International University have a better graduation rate?
University of California-Irvine has the higher graduation rate, at about 86% against 48% at Hope International University.
Do graduates of University of California-Irvine or Hope International University earn more?
University of California-Irvine alumni earn more on average: a median of about $80,735 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,697 for Hope International University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of California-Irvine and Hope International University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of California-Irvine is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. Hope International University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do University of California-Irvine and Hope International University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1230–1430 at University of California-Irvine and 840–1220 at Hope International University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school