Skip to content

University of California-Riverside vs University of California-San Diego

University of California-Riverside is a public university in Riverside, CA. University of California-San Diego is a public university in La Jolla, CA. University of California-San Diego admits about 27% of applicants and University of California-Riverside about 76%, making University of California-San Diego the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $12,470 a year at University of California-San Diego after aid, and about $14,304 at University of California-Riverside. About 87% of students graduate at University of California-San Diego, compared with 76% at University of California-Riverside. Ten years after enrolling, University of California-San Diego alumni earn a median of about $84,943, against $67,699 for University of California-Riverside.

University of California-Riverside

Riverside, CA · Public

University of California-San Diego

La Jolla, CA · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Riverside, CA
La Jolla, CA
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
22,593
34,948
Acceptance rate
76%
27%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.41–3.91
3.46–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1080–1280
1270–1480
ACT (middle 50%)
22–31
28–34
Test policy
Test blind
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,304
$12,470
Full cost / yr
$38,942
$38,701
In-state tuition
$15,606
$16,758
Out-of-state tuition
$49,806
$50,958
Application fee
$80
$80
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$8,852
$7,525
$30k - $48k
$9,840
$8,155
$48k - $75k
$13,111
$9,942
$75k - $110k
$16,571
$15,199
Over $110k
$30,393
$28,785
Outcomes
Graduation rate
76%
87%
Freshman retention
88%
94%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$48,593
$65,669
Median earnings (10 yr)
$67,699
$84,943
Median debt at graduation
$17,500
$15,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
47%
34%
First-generation students
48%
40%
International students
4%
11%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Nov 30
Nov 30

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of California-Riverside or University of California-San Diego harder to get into?
University of California-San Diego is harder to get into. It admits about 27% of applicants, compared with 76% at University of California-Riverside. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of California-Riverside or University of California-San Diego?
University of California-San Diego is cheaper on average. Students pay about $12,470 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $14,304 at University of California-Riverside. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of California-Riverside and University of California-San Diego?
Before aid, University of California-San Diego costs about $38,701 a year and University of California-Riverside about $38,942. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of California-Riverside or University of California-San Diego?
University of California-San Diego. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,525 there, against about $8,852 at University of California-Riverside. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of California-Riverside or University of California-San Diego?
University of California-San Diego is the larger of the two, with about 34,948 undergraduates against 22,593 at University of California-Riverside.
Does University of California-Riverside or University of California-San Diego have a better graduation rate?
University of California-San Diego has the higher graduation rate, at about 87% against 76% at University of California-Riverside.
Do graduates of University of California-Riverside or University of California-San Diego earn more?
University of California-San Diego alumni earn more on average: a median of about $84,943 ten years after enrolling, against about $67,699 for University of California-Riverside. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of California-Riverside and University of California-San Diego require SAT or ACT scores?
University of California-Riverside is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. University of California-San Diego is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do University of California-Riverside and University of California-San Diego look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1080–1280 at University of California-Riverside and 1270–1480 at University of California-San Diego. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school