Skip to content

University of Central Missouri vs Cottey College

University of Central Missouri is a public university in Warrensburg, MO, and Cottey College is a private college in Nevada, MO. University of Central Missouri is the more selective of the two, admitting about 64% of applicants against 69% at Cottey College. Cottey College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $13,805 a year against $14,462 at University of Central Missouri. About 59% of students graduate at Cottey College, compared with 52% at University of Central Missouri. Ten years after enrolling, University of Central Missouri alumni earn a median of about $49,560, against $35,422 for Cottey College.

University of Central Missouri

Warrensburg, MO · Public

Cottey College

Nevada, MO · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Warrensburg, MO
Nevada, MO
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
5,648
254
Acceptance rate
64%
69%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.58–4
3.37–3.87
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
1030–1120
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
14–24
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,462
$13,805
Full cost / yr
$22,947
$39,269
In-state tuition
$10,050
$27,562
Out-of-state tuition
$18,600
$27,562
Application fee
$30
$20
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,965
$14,093
$30k - $48k
$12,254
$10,634
$48k - $75k
$13,408
$12,063
$75k - $110k
$16,931
$15,732
Over $110k
$18,485
$18,130
Outcomes
Graduation rate
52%
59%
Freshman retention
74%
67%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,593
$32,903
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,560
$35,422
Median debt at graduation
$21,000
$19,043
Student body
Pell grant recipients
27%
46%
First-generation students
33%
31%
International students
2%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Central Missouri or Cottey College harder to get into?
University of Central Missouri is harder to get into. It admits about 64% of applicants, compared with 69% at Cottey College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Central Missouri or Cottey College?
Cottey College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,805 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $14,462 at University of Central Missouri. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Central Missouri and Cottey College?
Before aid, University of Central Missouri costs about $22,947 a year and Cottey College about $39,269. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Central Missouri or Cottey College?
University of Central Missouri. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,965 there, against about $14,093 at Cottey College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Central Missouri or Cottey College?
University of Central Missouri is the larger of the two, with about 5,648 undergraduates against 254 at Cottey College.
Does University of Central Missouri or Cottey College have a better graduation rate?
Cottey College has the higher graduation rate, at about 59% against 52% at University of Central Missouri.
Do graduates of University of Central Missouri or Cottey College earn more?
University of Central Missouri alumni earn more on average: a median of about $49,560 ten years after enrolling, against about $35,422 for Cottey College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Central Missouri and Cottey College require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Central Missouri is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Cottey College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school