Skip to content

University of Central Missouri vs Missouri Valley College

University of Central Missouri is a public university in Warrensburg, MO, and Missouri Valley College is a private college in Marshall, MO. University of Central Missouri is the more selective of the two, admitting about 64% of applicants against 69% at Missouri Valley College. University of Central Missouri is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,462 a year against $18,086 at Missouri Valley College. About 52% of students graduate at University of Central Missouri, compared with 23% at Missouri Valley College. Ten years after enrolling, University of Central Missouri alumni earn a median of about $49,560, against $43,221 for Missouri Valley College.

University of Central Missouri

Warrensburg, MO · Public

Missouri Valley College

Marshall, MO · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Warrensburg, MO
Marshall, MO
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
5,648
1,443
Acceptance rate
64%
69%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.58–4
3.37–3.87
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
895–1115
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
16–20
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,462
$18,086
Full cost / yr
$22,947
$37,899
In-state tuition
$10,050
$23,700
Out-of-state tuition
$18,600
$23,700
Application fee
$30
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,965
$16,132
$30k - $48k
$12,254
$15,854
$48k - $75k
$13,408
$16,039
$75k - $110k
$16,931
$20,499
Over $110k
$18,485
$22,669
Outcomes
Graduation rate
52%
23%
Freshman retention
74%
53%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,593
$36,902
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,560
$43,221
Median debt at graduation
$21,000
$25,950
Student body
Pell grant recipients
27%
32%
First-generation students
33%
40%
International students
2%
28%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Central Missouri or Missouri Valley College harder to get into?
University of Central Missouri is harder to get into. It admits about 64% of applicants, compared with 69% at Missouri Valley College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Central Missouri or Missouri Valley College?
University of Central Missouri is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,462 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,086 at Missouri Valley College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Central Missouri and Missouri Valley College?
Before aid, University of Central Missouri costs about $22,947 a year and Missouri Valley College about $37,899. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Central Missouri or Missouri Valley College?
University of Central Missouri. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,965 there, against about $16,132 at Missouri Valley College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Central Missouri or Missouri Valley College?
University of Central Missouri is the larger of the two, with about 5,648 undergraduates against 1,443 at Missouri Valley College.
Does University of Central Missouri or Missouri Valley College have a better graduation rate?
University of Central Missouri has the higher graduation rate, at about 52% against 23% at Missouri Valley College.
Do graduates of University of Central Missouri or Missouri Valley College earn more?
University of Central Missouri alumni earn more on average: a median of about $49,560 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,221 for Missouri Valley College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Central Missouri and Missouri Valley College require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Central Missouri is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Missouri Valley College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school