Skip to content

University of Charleston vs Fairmont State University

University of Charleston is a private university in Charleston, WV. Fairmont State University is a public university in Fairmont, WV. University of Charleston admits about 62% of applicants and Fairmont State University about 99%, making University of Charleston the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $9,032 a year at Fairmont State University after aid, and about $22,107 at University of Charleston. About 46% of students graduate at both. Ten years after enrolling, University of Charleston alumni earn a median of about $55,774, against $46,857 for Fairmont State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

University of Charleston

Charleston, WV · Private

Fairmont State University

Fairmont, WV · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Charleston, WV
Fairmont, WV
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
2,259
2,590
Acceptance rate
62%
99%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.4–3.9
3.06–3.56
SAT (middle 50%)
985–1160
810–1070
ACT (middle 50%)
19–23
17–23
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,107
$9,032
Full cost / yr
$46,470
$20,018
In-state tuition
$33,800
$8,708
Out-of-state tuition
$33,800
$18,924
Application fee
$25
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$21,427
$8,434
$30k - $48k
$25,331
$8,679
$48k - $75k
$16,945
$10,505
$75k - $110k
$20,215
$11,184
Over $110k
$23,795
$6,945
Outcomes
Graduation rate
46%
46%
Freshman retention
75%
67%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$42,698
$41,197
Median earnings (10 yr)
$55,774
$46,857
Median debt at graduation
$19,500
$21,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
31%
34%
First-generation students
43%
41%
International students
8%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Charleston or Fairmont State University harder to get into?
University of Charleston is harder to get into. It admits about 62% of applicants, compared with 99% at Fairmont State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Charleston or Fairmont State University?
Fairmont State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $9,032 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,107 at University of Charleston. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Charleston and Fairmont State University?
Before aid, Fairmont State University costs about $20,018 a year and University of Charleston about $46,470. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Charleston or Fairmont State University?
Fairmont State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,434 there, against about $21,427 at University of Charleston. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Charleston or Fairmont State University?
Fairmont State University is the larger of the two, with about 2,590 undergraduates against 2,259 at University of Charleston.
Does University of Charleston or Fairmont State University have a better graduation rate?
Both graduate about 46% of their students.
Do graduates of University of Charleston or Fairmont State University earn more?
University of Charleston alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,774 ten years after enrolling, against about $46,857 for Fairmont State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Charleston and Fairmont State University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Charleston is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Fairmont State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do University of Charleston and Fairmont State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 985–1160 at University of Charleston and 810–1070 at Fairmont State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school