Skip to content

University of Dubuque vs University of Northern Iowa

University of Dubuque is a private university in Dubuque, IA. University of Northern Iowa is a public university in Cedar Falls, IA. University of Dubuque admits about 89% of applicants and University of Northern Iowa about 93%, making University of Dubuque the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $15,901 a year at University of Northern Iowa after aid, and about $23,386 at University of Dubuque. About 68% of students graduate at University of Northern Iowa, compared with 41% at University of Dubuque. Ten years after enrolling, University of Northern Iowa alumni earn a median of about $55,177, against $51,190 for University of Dubuque.

University of Dubuque

Dubuque, IA · Private

University of Northern Iowa

Cedar Falls, IA · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Dubuque, IA
Cedar Falls, IA
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,440
7,529
Acceptance rate
89%
93%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.31–3.81
3.23–3.73
SAT (middle 50%)
980–1220
1020–1280
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
19–26
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$23,386
$15,901
Full cost / yr
$53,806
$22,278
In-state tuition
$42,095
$9,936
Out-of-state tuition
$42,095
$21,712
Application fee
$0
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$18,106
$10,863
$30k - $48k
$19,318
$11,751
$48k - $75k
$19,480
$14,099
$75k - $110k
$24,660
$17,740
Over $110k
$25,908
$18,706
Outcomes
Graduation rate
41%
68%
Freshman retention
77%
82%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$44,960
$47,222
Median earnings (10 yr)
$51,190
$55,177
Median debt at graduation
$25,750
$19,691
Student body
Pell grant recipients
40%
27%
First-generation students
36%
22%
International students
3%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Dubuque or University of Northern Iowa harder to get into?
University of Dubuque is harder to get into. It admits about 89% of applicants, compared with 93% at University of Northern Iowa. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Dubuque or University of Northern Iowa?
University of Northern Iowa is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,901 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $23,386 at University of Dubuque. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Dubuque and University of Northern Iowa?
Before aid, University of Northern Iowa costs about $22,278 a year and University of Dubuque about $53,806. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Dubuque or University of Northern Iowa?
University of Northern Iowa. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,863 there, against about $18,106 at University of Dubuque. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Dubuque or University of Northern Iowa?
University of Northern Iowa is the larger of the two, with about 7,529 undergraduates against 1,440 at University of Dubuque.
Does University of Dubuque or University of Northern Iowa have a better graduation rate?
University of Northern Iowa has the higher graduation rate, at about 68% against 41% at University of Dubuque.
Do graduates of University of Dubuque or University of Northern Iowa earn more?
University of Northern Iowa alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,177 ten years after enrolling, against about $51,190 for University of Dubuque. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Dubuque and University of Northern Iowa require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Dubuque is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Northern Iowa is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Dubuque and University of Northern Iowa look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 980–1220 at University of Dubuque and 1020–1280 at University of Northern Iowa. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school