Skip to content

University of Houston-Downtown vs Tarleton State University

University of Houston-Downtown is a public university in Houston, TX. Tarleton State University is a public university in Stephenville, TX. Both admit about 90% of applicants. Students pay an average of about $10,542 a year at University of Houston-Downtown after aid, and about $20,783 at Tarleton State University. About 50% of students graduate at Tarleton State University, compared with 33% at University of Houston-Downtown. Ten years after enrolling, University of Houston-Downtown alumni earn a median of about $53,551, against $53,040 for Tarleton State University.

University of Houston-Downtown

Houston, TX · Public

Tarleton State University

Stephenville, TX · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Houston, TX
Stephenville, TX
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
12,555
12,673
Acceptance rate
90%
90%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.22–3.72
3.23–3.73
SAT (middle 50%)
940–1110
980–1160
ACT (middle 50%)
16–22
19–24
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$10,542
$20,783
Full cost / yr
$20,749
$24,100
In-state tuition
$7,708
$8,302
Out-of-state tuition
$17,548
$18,142
Application fee
$50
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$9,439
$15,574
$30k - $48k
$10,048
$16,980
$48k - $75k
$11,247
$20,396
$75k - $110k
$15,488
$23,466
Over $110k
$19,380
$24,076
Outcomes
Graduation rate
33%
50%
Freshman retention
67%
70%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$49,120
$46,729
Median earnings (10 yr)
$53,551
$53,040
Median debt at graduation
$18,750
$19,606
Student body
Pell grant recipients
55%
34%
First-generation students
53%
42%
International students
2%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jul 31
Aug 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Houston-Downtown or Tarleton State University harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 90% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Houston-Downtown or Tarleton State University?
University of Houston-Downtown is cheaper on average. Students pay about $10,542 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,783 at Tarleton State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Houston-Downtown and Tarleton State University?
Before aid, University of Houston-Downtown costs about $20,749 a year and Tarleton State University about $24,100. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Houston-Downtown or Tarleton State University?
University of Houston-Downtown. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,439 there, against about $15,574 at Tarleton State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Houston-Downtown or Tarleton State University?
Tarleton State University is the larger of the two, with about 12,673 undergraduates against 12,555 at University of Houston-Downtown.
Does University of Houston-Downtown or Tarleton State University have a better graduation rate?
Tarleton State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 50% against 33% at University of Houston-Downtown.
Do graduates of University of Houston-Downtown or Tarleton State University earn more?
University of Houston-Downtown alumni earn more on average: a median of about $53,551 ten years after enrolling, against about $53,040 for Tarleton State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Houston-Downtown and Tarleton State University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Houston-Downtown is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Tarleton State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Houston-Downtown and Tarleton State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 940–1110 at University of Houston-Downtown and 980–1160 at Tarleton State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school