Skip to content

University of Houston-Victoria vs LeTourneau University

University of Houston-Victoria is a public university in Victoria, TX. LeTourneau University is a private university in Longview, TX. LeTourneau University admits about 38% of applicants and University of Houston-Victoria about 96%, making LeTourneau University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $8,109 a year at University of Houston-Victoria after aid, and about $28,185 at LeTourneau University. About 60% of students graduate at LeTourneau University, compared with 26% at University of Houston-Victoria. Ten years after enrolling, LeTourneau University alumni earn a median of about $57,103, against $54,467 for University of Houston-Victoria.

University of Houston-Victoria

Victoria, TX · Public

LeTourneau University

Longview, TX · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Victoria, TX
Longview, TX
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
2,513
1,468
Acceptance rate
96%
38%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.36–4
SAT (middle 50%)
993–1180
990–1330
ACT (middle 50%)
19–25
21–30
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$8,109
$28,185
Full cost / yr
$21,401
$51,124
In-state tuition
$7,149
$37,160
Out-of-state tuition
$16,989
$37,160
Application fee
$25
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$5,317
$22,785
$30k - $48k
$5,579
$21,806
$48k - $75k
$17,553
$24,777
$75k - $110k
$20,047
$28,892
Over $110k
$20,285
$31,854
Outcomes
Graduation rate
26%
60%
Freshman retention
65%
81%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$44,888
$51,058
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,467
$57,103
Median debt at graduation
$18,973
$26,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
49%
13%
First-generation students
46%
34%
International students
3%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jun 15

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Houston-Victoria or LeTourneau University harder to get into?
LeTourneau University is harder to get into. It admits about 38% of applicants, compared with 96% at University of Houston-Victoria. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Houston-Victoria or LeTourneau University?
University of Houston-Victoria is cheaper on average. Students pay about $8,109 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $28,185 at LeTourneau University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Houston-Victoria and LeTourneau University?
Before aid, University of Houston-Victoria costs about $21,401 a year and LeTourneau University about $51,124. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Houston-Victoria or LeTourneau University?
University of Houston-Victoria. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $5,317 there, against about $22,785 at LeTourneau University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Houston-Victoria or LeTourneau University?
University of Houston-Victoria is the larger of the two, with about 2,513 undergraduates against 1,468 at LeTourneau University.
Does University of Houston-Victoria or LeTourneau University have a better graduation rate?
LeTourneau University has the higher graduation rate, at about 60% against 26% at University of Houston-Victoria.
Do graduates of University of Houston-Victoria or LeTourneau University earn more?
LeTourneau University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $57,103 ten years after enrolling, against about $54,467 for University of Houston-Victoria. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Houston-Victoria and LeTourneau University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Houston-Victoria is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. LeTourneau University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Houston-Victoria and LeTourneau University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 993–1180 at University of Houston-Victoria and 990–1330 at LeTourneau University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school