Skip to content

University of Illinois Springfield vs Chamberlain University-Illinois

University of Illinois Springfield is a public university in Springfield, IL. Chamberlain University-Illinois is a private for-profit university in Addison, IL. Chamberlain University-Illinois admits about 83% of applicants and University of Illinois Springfield about 86%, making Chamberlain University-Illinois the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $9,833 a year at University of Illinois Springfield after aid, and about $31,837 at Chamberlain University-Illinois. About 57% of students graduate at University of Illinois Springfield, compared with 45% at Chamberlain University-Illinois. Ten years after enrolling, Chamberlain University-Illinois alumni earn a median of about $92,405, against $57,103 for University of Illinois Springfield.

University of Illinois Springfield

Springfield, IL · Public

Chamberlain University-Illinois

Addison, IL · Private (for-profit)
At a glance
Type
Public
Private (for-profit)
Location
Springfield, IL
Addison, IL
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
2,263
14,027
Acceptance rate
86%
83%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.3–3.8
3.22–3.72
SAT (middle 50%)
940–1200
770–850
ACT (middle 50%)
21–27
14–17
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$9,833
$31,837
Full cost / yr
$25,521
$40,826
In-state tuition
$12,252
$21,536
Out-of-state tuition
$22,017
$21,536
Application fee
$50
$95
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$5,778
$30,013
$30k - $48k
$5,915
$30,090
$48k - $75k
$9,520
$34,050
$75k - $110k
$12,349
$32,607
Over $110k
$16,544
$40,826
Outcomes
Graduation rate
57%
45%
Freshman retention
75%
73%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$47,432
$84,533
Median earnings (10 yr)
$57,103
$92,405
Median debt at graduation
$19,128
$20,919
Student body
Pell grant recipients
37%
33%
First-generation students
36%
47%
International students
3%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 1
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Illinois Springfield or Chamberlain University-Illinois harder to get into?
Chamberlain University-Illinois is harder to get into. It admits about 83% of applicants, compared with 86% at University of Illinois Springfield. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Illinois Springfield or Chamberlain University-Illinois?
University of Illinois Springfield is cheaper on average. Students pay about $9,833 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $31,837 at Chamberlain University-Illinois. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Illinois Springfield and Chamberlain University-Illinois?
Before aid, University of Illinois Springfield costs about $25,521 a year and Chamberlain University-Illinois about $40,826. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Illinois Springfield or Chamberlain University-Illinois?
University of Illinois Springfield. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $5,778 there, against about $30,013 at Chamberlain University-Illinois. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Illinois Springfield or Chamberlain University-Illinois?
Chamberlain University-Illinois is the larger of the two, with about 14,027 undergraduates against 2,263 at University of Illinois Springfield.
Does University of Illinois Springfield or Chamberlain University-Illinois have a better graduation rate?
University of Illinois Springfield has the higher graduation rate, at about 57% against 45% at Chamberlain University-Illinois.
Do graduates of University of Illinois Springfield or Chamberlain University-Illinois earn more?
Chamberlain University-Illinois alumni earn more on average: a median of about $92,405 ten years after enrolling, against about $57,103 for University of Illinois Springfield. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Illinois Springfield and Chamberlain University-Illinois require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Illinois Springfield is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Chamberlain University-Illinois considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do University of Illinois Springfield and Chamberlain University-Illinois look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 940–1200 at University of Illinois Springfield and 770–850 at Chamberlain University-Illinois. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school