Skip to content

University of Indianapolis vs Indiana University-Kokomo

University of Indianapolis is a private university in Indianapolis, IN, and Indiana University-Kokomo is a public university in Kokomo, IN. University of Indianapolis is the more selective of the two, admitting about 67% of applicants against 86% at Indiana University-Kokomo. Indiana University-Kokomo is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $3,968 a year against $21,602 at University of Indianapolis. About 56% of students graduate at University of Indianapolis, compared with 45% at Indiana University-Kokomo. Ten years after enrolling, University of Indianapolis alumni earn a median of about $53,610, against $49,917 for Indiana University-Kokomo.

University of Indianapolis

Indianapolis, IN · Private

Indiana University-Kokomo

Kokomo, IN · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Kokomo, IN
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
3,005
2,352
Acceptance rate
67%
86%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.38–3.88
3.29–3.79
SAT (middle 50%)
960–1170
960–1150
ACT (middle 50%)
18–25
21–27
Test policy
Test blind
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$21,602
$3,968
Full cost / yr
$52,590
$11,837
In-state tuition
$37,200
$8,424
Out-of-state tuition
$37,200
$22,811
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$15,346
$0*
$30k - $48k
$17,863
$0*
$48k - $75k
$21,262
$2,375
$75k - $110k
$23,855
$9,025
Over $110k
$28,004
$10,593
Outcomes
Graduation rate
56%
45%
Freshman retention
71%
69%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,452
$42,134
Median earnings (10 yr)
$53,610
$49,917
Median debt at graduation
$26,864
$16,961
Student body
Pell grant recipients
33%
33%
First-generation students
32%
40%
International students
8%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

* Reported aid for this income range averaged above the billed cost.

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Indianapolis or Indiana University-Kokomo harder to get into?
University of Indianapolis is harder to get into. It admits about 67% of applicants, compared with 86% at Indiana University-Kokomo. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Indianapolis or Indiana University-Kokomo?
Indiana University-Kokomo is cheaper on average. Students pay about $3,968 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $21,602 at University of Indianapolis. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Indianapolis and Indiana University-Kokomo?
Before aid, Indiana University-Kokomo costs about $11,837 a year and University of Indianapolis about $52,590. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Indianapolis or Indiana University-Kokomo?
Indiana University-Kokomo. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $-583 there, against about $15,346 at University of Indianapolis. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Indianapolis or Indiana University-Kokomo?
University of Indianapolis is the larger of the two, with about 3,005 undergraduates against 2,352 at Indiana University-Kokomo.
Does University of Indianapolis or Indiana University-Kokomo have a better graduation rate?
University of Indianapolis has the higher graduation rate, at about 56% against 45% at Indiana University-Kokomo.
Do graduates of University of Indianapolis or Indiana University-Kokomo earn more?
University of Indianapolis alumni earn more on average: a median of about $53,610 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,917 for Indiana University-Kokomo. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Indianapolis and Indiana University-Kokomo require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Indianapolis is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. Indiana University-Kokomo is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Indianapolis and Indiana University-Kokomo look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 960–1170 at University of Indianapolis and 960–1150 at Indiana University-Kokomo. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school