Skip to content

University of Kansas vs Ottawa University-Ottawa

University of Kansas is a public university in Lawrence, KS, and Ottawa University-Ottawa is a private university in Ottawa, KS. Ottawa University-Ottawa is the more selective of the two, admitting about 83% of applicants against 93% at University of Kansas. University of Kansas is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $18,059 a year against $27,963 at Ottawa University-Ottawa. About 69% of students graduate at University of Kansas, compared with 28% at Ottawa University-Ottawa. Ten years after enrolling, University of Kansas alumni earn a median of about $61,945, against $55,552 for Ottawa University-Ottawa.

University of Kansas

Lawrence, KS · Public

Ottawa University-Ottawa

Ottawa, KS · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Lawrence, KS
Ottawa, KS
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
21,217
870
Acceptance rate
93%
83%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
~3.71 avg
3.22–3.72
SAT (middle 50%)
1070–1300
750–1000
ACT (middle 50%)
20–28
16–22
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,059
$27,963
Full cost / yr
$26,751
$51,856
In-state tuition
$12,102
$35,880
Out-of-state tuition
$30,432
$35,880
Application fee
$40
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,544
$22,449
$30k - $48k
$12,942
$22,912
$48k - $75k
$15,154
$25,525
$75k - $110k
$19,169
$30,199
Over $110k
$22,544
$30,771
Outcomes
Graduation rate
69%
28%
Freshman retention
86%
58%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$51,217
$49,139
Median earnings (10 yr)
$61,945
$55,552
Median debt at graduation
$21,000
$21,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
20%
37%
First-generation students
22%
40%
International students
3%
6%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Kansas or Ottawa University-Ottawa harder to get into?
Ottawa University-Ottawa is harder to get into. It admits about 83% of applicants, compared with 93% at University of Kansas. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Kansas or Ottawa University-Ottawa?
University of Kansas is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,059 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $27,963 at Ottawa University-Ottawa. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Kansas and Ottawa University-Ottawa?
Before aid, University of Kansas costs about $26,751 a year and Ottawa University-Ottawa about $51,856. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Kansas or Ottawa University-Ottawa?
University of Kansas. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,544 there, against about $22,449 at Ottawa University-Ottawa. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Kansas or Ottawa University-Ottawa?
University of Kansas is the larger of the two, with about 21,217 undergraduates against 870 at Ottawa University-Ottawa.
Does University of Kansas or Ottawa University-Ottawa have a better graduation rate?
University of Kansas has the higher graduation rate, at about 69% against 28% at Ottawa University-Ottawa.
Do graduates of University of Kansas or Ottawa University-Ottawa earn more?
University of Kansas alumni earn more on average: a median of about $61,945 ten years after enrolling, against about $55,552 for Ottawa University-Ottawa. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Kansas and Ottawa University-Ottawa require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Kansas is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Ottawa University-Ottawa considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do University of Kansas and Ottawa University-Ottawa look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1070–1300 at University of Kansas and 750–1000 at Ottawa University-Ottawa. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school