Skip to content

University of Kansas vs Wichita State University

University of Kansas is a public university in Lawrence, KS, and Wichita State University is a public university in Wichita, KS. University of Kansas is the more selective of the two, admitting about 93% of applicants against 94% at Wichita State University. Wichita State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $13,194 a year against $18,059 at University of Kansas. About 69% of students graduate at University of Kansas, compared with 51% at Wichita State University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Kansas alumni earn a median of about $61,945, against $51,532 for Wichita State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

University of Kansas

Lawrence, KS · Public

Wichita State University

Wichita, KS · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Lawrence, KS
Wichita, KS
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
21,217
10,780
Acceptance rate
93%
94%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
~3.71 avg
3.14–3.64
SAT (middle 50%)
1070–1300
905–1240
ACT (middle 50%)
20–28
17–25
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,059
$13,194
Full cost / yr
$26,751
$21,780
In-state tuition
$12,102
$9,684
Out-of-state tuition
$30,432
$19,869
Application fee
$40
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,544
$9,734
$30k - $48k
$12,942
$9,696
$48k - $75k
$15,154
$13,564
$75k - $110k
$19,169
$16,893
Over $110k
$22,544
$19,184
Outcomes
Graduation rate
69%
51%
Freshman retention
86%
69%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$51,217
$44,043
Median earnings (10 yr)
$61,945
$51,532
Median debt at graduation
$21,000
$20,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
20%
31%
First-generation students
22%
36%
International students
3%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Kansas or Wichita State University harder to get into?
University of Kansas is harder to get into. It admits about 93% of applicants, compared with 94% at Wichita State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Kansas or Wichita State University?
Wichita State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,194 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,059 at University of Kansas. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Kansas and Wichita State University?
Before aid, Wichita State University costs about $21,780 a year and University of Kansas about $26,751. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Kansas or Wichita State University?
Wichita State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,734 there, against about $12,544 at University of Kansas. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Kansas or Wichita State University?
University of Kansas is the larger of the two, with about 21,217 undergraduates against 10,780 at Wichita State University.
Does University of Kansas or Wichita State University have a better graduation rate?
University of Kansas has the higher graduation rate, at about 69% against 51% at Wichita State University.
Do graduates of University of Kansas or Wichita State University earn more?
University of Kansas alumni earn more on average: a median of about $61,945 ten years after enrolling, against about $51,532 for Wichita State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Kansas and Wichita State University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Kansas is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Wichita State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do University of Kansas and Wichita State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1070–1300 at University of Kansas and 905–1240 at Wichita State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school