Skip to content

University of Kentucky vs Thomas More University

University of Kentucky is a public university in Lexington, KY, and Thomas More University is a private university in Crestview Hills, KY. Thomas More University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 90% of applicants against 93% at University of Kentucky. University of Kentucky is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $18,851 a year against $21,835 at Thomas More University. About 71% of students graduate at University of Kentucky, compared with 40% at Thomas More University. Ten years after enrolling, Thomas More University alumni earn a median of about $59,384, against $59,025 for University of Kentucky.

University of Kentucky

Lexington, KY · Public

Thomas More University

Crestview Hills, KY · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Lexington, KY
Crestview Hills, KY
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
24,763
1,293
Acceptance rate
93%
90%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
~3.58 avg
3.27–3.77
SAT (middle 50%)
1070–1290
1030–1230
ACT (middle 50%)
21–28
21–27
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,851
$21,835
Full cost / yr
$34,391
$49,452
In-state tuition
$13,502
$39,800
Out-of-state tuition
$34,140
$39,800
Application fee
$50
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,182
$15,841
$30k - $48k
$12,119
$17,955
$48k - $75k
$16,313
$18,429
$75k - $110k
$21,192
$23,815
Over $110k
$26,781
$25,267
Outcomes
Graduation rate
71%
40%
Freshman retention
87%
67%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$47,266
$47,148
Median earnings (10 yr)
$59,025
$59,384
Median debt at graduation
$22,500
$26,236
Student body
Pell grant recipients
23%
23%
First-generation students
23%
37%
International students
1%
6%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 1
Not reported
Regular decision
Feb 15
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Kentucky or Thomas More University harder to get into?
Thomas More University is harder to get into. It admits about 90% of applicants, compared with 93% at University of Kentucky. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Kentucky or Thomas More University?
University of Kentucky is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,851 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $21,835 at Thomas More University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Kentucky and Thomas More University?
Before aid, University of Kentucky costs about $34,391 a year and Thomas More University about $49,452. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Kentucky or Thomas More University?
University of Kentucky. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,182 there, against about $15,841 at Thomas More University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Kentucky or Thomas More University?
University of Kentucky is the larger of the two, with about 24,763 undergraduates against 1,293 at Thomas More University.
Does University of Kentucky or Thomas More University have a better graduation rate?
University of Kentucky has the higher graduation rate, at about 71% against 40% at Thomas More University.
Do graduates of University of Kentucky or Thomas More University earn more?
Thomas More University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $59,384 ten years after enrolling, against about $59,025 for University of Kentucky. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Kentucky and Thomas More University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Kentucky is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Thomas More University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Kentucky and Thomas More University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1070–1290 at University of Kentucky and 1030–1230 at Thomas More University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school