Skip to content

University of Mary Hardin-Baylor vs St. Mary's University

University of Mary Hardin-Baylor is a private university in Belton, TX, and St. Mary's University is a private university in San Antonio, TX. University of Mary Hardin-Baylor is the more selective of the two, admitting about 96% of applicants against 98% at St. Mary's University. St. Mary's University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $21,145 a year against $26,106 at University of Mary Hardin-Baylor. About 60% of students graduate at St. Mary's University, compared with 51% at University of Mary Hardin-Baylor. Ten years after enrolling, St. Mary's University alumni earn a median of about $56,955, against $56,132 for University of Mary Hardin-Baylor.

University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

Belton, TX · Private

St. Mary's University

San Antonio, TX · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Belton, TX
San Antonio, TX
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
2,759
1,951
Acceptance rate
96%
98%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.19–3.69
SAT (middle 50%)
960–1200
900–1310
ACT (middle 50%)
19–26
15–27
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$26,106
$21,145
Full cost / yr
$46,874
$47,999
In-state tuition
$32,020
$37,434
Out-of-state tuition
$32,020
$37,434
Application fee
$35
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$22,089
$18,352
$30k - $48k
$23,064
$21,470
$48k - $75k
$23,607
$20,553
$75k - $110k
$27,343
$22,331
Over $110k
$33,166
$24,649
Outcomes
Graduation rate
51%
60%
Freshman retention
62%
73%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$48,368
$44,130
Median earnings (10 yr)
$56,132
$56,955
Median debt at graduation
$26,000
$25,563
Student body
Pell grant recipients
40%
39%
First-generation students
32%
39%
International students
1%
8%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Mary Hardin-Baylor or St. Mary's University harder to get into?
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor is harder to get into. It admits about 96% of applicants, compared with 98% at St. Mary's University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor or St. Mary's University?
St. Mary's University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $21,145 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $26,106 at University of Mary Hardin-Baylor. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Mary Hardin-Baylor and St. Mary's University?
Before aid, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor costs about $46,874 a year and St. Mary's University about $47,999. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor or St. Mary's University?
St. Mary's University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $18,352 there, against about $22,089 at University of Mary Hardin-Baylor. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor or St. Mary's University?
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor is the larger of the two, with about 2,759 undergraduates against 1,951 at St. Mary's University.
Does University of Mary Hardin-Baylor or St. Mary's University have a better graduation rate?
St. Mary's University has the higher graduation rate, at about 60% against 51% at University of Mary Hardin-Baylor.
Do graduates of University of Mary Hardin-Baylor or St. Mary's University earn more?
St. Mary's University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $56,955 ten years after enrolling, against about $56,132 for University of Mary Hardin-Baylor. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Mary Hardin-Baylor and St. Mary's University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. St. Mary's University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Mary Hardin-Baylor and St. Mary's University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 960–1200 at University of Mary Hardin-Baylor and 900–1310 at St. Mary's University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school